Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Science

  • ArXiv. org — open access to millions of e-prints in physics, math, comp. sci., quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics, electrical engineering and more. Funded by Cornell U.
  • ATETV (Advanced Technological Education TV) — funded in part by the NSF (National Science Foundation), ATETV showcases ATE disciplines, including info tech, engineering, agricultural tech, process tech and rapid prototyping/manufacturing. New videos uploaded weekly
  • Automobile Fuel Economy — find out greenhouse gas emissions and fuel economy for your car, tips on improving gas mileage, gasoline prices across the nation and more
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library — providing access to over 40k journals and books – legacy literature – on biodiversity: botany, zoology, natural history, evolution, classification, paleontology and more. Int’l in scope and historical in coverage (from 1450 to present)
  • Charles Darwin’s Library — digital edition and reconstruction of the surviving books owned by Darwin. Includes his notations and markings
  • CiteSeer.IST – Scientific Literature Digital Library — indexes thousands of scientific documents, many in full text: journal articles, proceedings, reports and pre-prints. By Penn State U.
  • Codeacademy — learn to code interactively for free
  • Darwin Online — from complete publications of Charles Darwin [Origin of Species, Voyage of the Beagle, Descent of Man], private papers and manuscripts, to reviews and responses, Darwin’s specimens, obituaries and more
  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals — free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering numerous subjects and available in many languages
  • EarthSky Science Podcasts & Videos — a clear voice for science
  • EERE: Alternative Fuels Data Center — Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, by the Dept. of Energy
  • Einstein Light — Einstein’s theory of relativity explained through animation and simple text
  • Energy in Brief — by the EIA, Energy Information Administration. What everyone should know about energy. Fact sheets and articles that explain important energy topics in plain language for the layperson or non-specialist
  • EOL – Encyclopedia of Life — an open-access, collaborative encyclopedia whose vision is “global access to knowledge about life on Earth.” A convenient, info-rich resource for researching everything about organisms
  • EPA.gov — official website of the Environmental Protection Agency
  • Food Insight — your nutrition and food safety resource. By the IFIC: International Food Information Council Foundation
  • Futurity.org — news from leading research universities
  • Geology & Earth Science
  • Google Sky — astronomy at a glance
  • How Stuff Works — from junk science to real science, find out how stuff works
  • Instruments for Science, 1800-1914 — illustrated scientific trade catalogs, from the Smithsonian Institute
  • Khan Academy — thousands of videos and interactive exercises for learning math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics and more
  • Linus Pauling Online — research site dedicated to Nobel-winning American chemist. By Oregon State U.
  • The Naked Scientists — by University of Cambridge. Science news, interviews, articles, podcasts and more
  • NanoHUB — simulation, education & community for nanotechnology
  • Nanotechnology Portal — by NIST, the Nat’l Institute of Standards and Technology. Covering such subjects as nanobiotechnology, nanoelectronics, nanofluidics, nanomechanics, nanophysics and more
  • National Academies Press — thousands of PDF-format books in science, engineering and medicine
  • National Human Genome Research Institute
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • Nobel Prize — intn’l award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics and peace
  • OSTI – Office of Science & Technical Information — US Dept. of Energy. Making research & development progress & results easily available to the agencies served as well as the public
  • Physics for the 21st Century — explore the frontiers of physics research with the scientists on the front lines in this 11-unit course in modern physics for high school physics teachers, undergraduate students, and science enthusiasts
  • Phys.org — top news in science and technology: nanotechnology, physics, space & earth, electronics, chemistry, biology, medicine & health and more
  • Resources for the Future — independent research – rooted primarily in economics and other social sciences – on environmental, energy, natural resource and environmental health issues
  • RenewableEnergyWorld.com — World’s #1 Renewable Energy Network for News, Information & Companies
  • SageMath.org — a free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL. It builds on top of many existing open-source packages: NumPy, SciPy, matplotlib, Sympy, Maxima, GAP, FLINT, R and many more
  • Science in Action — by the BBC. “A magazine program pulling together the science issues of the week and delivering breaking science news from the just-released journals.”
  • Science.gov — gateway to millions of pages of authoritative federal science info provided by U.S. govt. agencies, including R & D results
  • ScienceBlogs.com — access to more than 70 blogs by selected leading bloggers from a variety of scientific disciplines
  • ScienceDaily — latest news and articles in science, health, environment and technology
  • ScienceMag: The Latest News Headlines from the Scientific World — from Science Magazine . By the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Scientific news, podcasts, videos and more. UTD users may access subscription content via the library site
  • ScienceSeeker — science news from science newsmakers
  • ScienceWatch — tracking trends & performance in scientific research. Continues where Essential Science Indicators leaves off (2007 onward)
  • Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History: Research & Collections — databases of holdings and illustrations
  • STEM Career — for those seeking and promoting careers in Science, Technology, Engineering & Math
  • TestTube — behind the scenes videos in the world of science
  • World Library of Science — connecting the world scientific community with educators and students and offering science education resources at no cost
  • WorldWideScience.org — global science gateway to federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. Results provided in multiple languages
  • Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science