LibGuides: Useful Websites: Dictionaries, Grammar and Thesauri

Dictionaries, Grammar and Thesauri

Abbreviations.com — decipher abbreviations and acronyms. Handy for finding full titles of journals
Acronymfinder — find out what any acronym, abbreviation, or initialism means
Bibliomania — click on RESEARCH
Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
Computer Desktop Encyclopedia — every important tech concept and product. Over 25,000 IT and consumer electronics definitions
English Grammar Guide
Guide to Grammar and Writing — online tutorials on grammar and English usage. From subject-verb agreement and use of articles to exercises in parallel structures and argumentative essays
Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) — searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755
Literary Encyclopedia — exploring literature, history and culture
Merriam-Webster — dictionary and thesaurus, with additional language resources at the bottom of the page
Multilingual Dictionaries
NetLingo — thousands of easy-to-understand definitions that explain the Internet and online world of business, technology and communication
Nonverbal Dictionary — of gestures, signs and body language cues. By the Center for Nonverbal Studies
Oxford English Dictionary Online — UTD users may access the full version of OED Online
Skeptic’s Dictionary — combating pseudoscience and outrageous claims wherever they may be found
Symbols.com — online encyclopedia that contains everything about symbols, signs, flags and glyphs arranged by categories such as culture, country, religion, and more
Translation Dictionaries & Services
Ultralingua — language site for definitions and translations
Urban Dictionary — hundreds of thousands of popular culture definitions and slang; entries submitted by users
Visual Dictionary Online by Merriam-Webster
Webopedia — dictionary of computer and Internet terms
Wordle — word cloud generator to help visualize the terms that appear most prominently within a text or on a website
Wordnik — for definitions, examples in use, pronunciation, and etymology of words, as well as statistics on their usage
Wordsmyth: The Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus
yourDictionary.com