Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Medical and Health

  • American Hospital Association: AHA — “Products & Services” -> “AHA Data” can be searched for hospital profile information such as number of beds and more
  • American Hospital Directory — free hospital look-up tool, links to hospital Web sites and statistics on hospitals in the U.S.
  • Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) — includes dietary guidelines for Americans
  • Child Welfare — by the Dept. of Health & Human Services
  • Drugs.com — providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on thousands of prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products
  • DrugWatch — helping people who were injured by dangerous drugs and medical devices. Includes FDA Recalls list
  • FDA.gov — U.S. Food & Drug Administration. Prescription and over-the-counter drug info. Find science and research, regulatory information, food & drug safety, public health focus and news & events
  • Food Navigator — research consumer and industry news on food ingredients, additives, recalls, science & nutrition and more
  • Genetics Home Reference — your guide to understanding genetic conditions. By NIH, National Library of Medicine
  • Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO) — key studies the EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public, such as the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystems from pollutants and chemicals in the environment
  • Healthfinder — government source of health info
  • Herbal Safety — along with herbal fact sheets. By UT El Paso
  • Hospital Compare — by the US Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Human Body Maps — by Healthline. Free, interactive anatomy program providing access to high-quality 3D medical images
  • Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) — health assessment program that evaluates quantitative and qualitative risk information on effects that may result from exposure to envnmnt’l contaminants. By the U.S. EPA
  • Medical Heritage Library — digital collection of materials compiled by many of the world’s leading medical libraries. About 14,000 authoritative medical books are represented along with numerous illustrations
  • MedicineNet
  • MedlinePlus — free, reliable medical information from the NLM, National Library of Medicine
  • Merck Manual – Professional Version — find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional
  • Merck Manual – Consumer Version — Merck Manual for the layperson
  • National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health [NCCIH] — by the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • National Center for Health Statistics — statistics on births and deaths, diet and body weight, and epidemiology in the U.S. By the CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH) — quality portal combining medical info and scientific advances of NIH’s 27 highly regarded institutes such as National Center on Minority Health & Health Disparities and National Human Genome Institution
  • NCBI Databases — search across multiple databases and collections in medicine, health, genomes/genetics, proteins and chemicals. By NCBI, National Center for Biotechnology Information and NLM, National Library of Medicine
  • Nutrition.gov — easy access to government info on food and human nutrition for consumers. Maintained by the US Dept. of Agriculture
  • Pillbox — pill identification and drug information system from the National Library of Medicine (NLM)
  • Planned Parenthood — delivers vital reproductive health care, sex education, and info to millions of women, men, and young people worldwide
  • PubMed — access millions of  citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
  • Quackwatch — consumer protection site committed to combating health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct
  • Quality Check of Hospitals and Other Health Care Organizations — by the independent, not-for-profit Joint Commission, which is responsible for accreditation and certification of 19,000+ health care orgs in the US
  • Rx List — info on prescription and non-prescription drugs
  • WebMD