Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Performing Arts, Music and Film

  • AllMovie Guide — lists of new releases on DVD/Blu-ray and in the theater. Browse or search by genre/sub-genre, release year, runtime, movie theme, movie moods, MPAA rating and more
  • AllMusic Guide — lists of top-selling albums, chart ratings for songs and albums, and music reviews. Browse and search for music by artist, song or album. Explore music based on genres, moods or themes
  • American Film Institute (AFI) — official site of AFI featuring many “top X” lists
  • Big Cartoon Database — info on over 70,000 film & TV cartoons and nearly 5,000 cartoon series. Access by studio, Academy Award-winning classic, or keyword search. Includes over 4,000 reviews
  • Box Office Mojo — features movies´ earnings, production cost, awards, news articles, discussion forums & more
  • Dramatists Play Service — search plays by title, author, keyword or ISBN. Browse by type of play, genre, and cast size
  • Film Literature Index — indexing 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television
  • IMDB: Internet Movie Database
  • International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
  • Internet Broadway Database — info on all areas of Broadway: shows, people, theatres, characters, awards and more
  • Moving Image Archive — from Internet Archive. Access thousands of free movies, films & videos. Most are available for free download. Excellent site for primary source and historical videos
  • MRQE — the Movie Review Query Engine
  • National Jukebox — by the Library of Congress. Featuring 10,000+ songs from the Victor Talking Machine Co. released between 1901 and 1925
  • Oscar.org — official website of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. Access the Academy Film Archive, Academy Awards Database, AA Acceptance Speech Database and more. Covers the beginning of the AAs – 1927/28 – to present
  • Performing Arts Encyclopedia — by the Library of Congress
  • Rotten Tomatoes — new movie and DVD reviews rated using the unique “tomato meter,” which averages all available movie reviews from popular media
  • Samuel French – House of Plays and Musical Plays — search plays by keyword, author, or title. Browse plays by category or no. of characters
  • Sibley Music Library — public domain musical scores and book, many unique to the Eastman School of Music, U. Rochester