Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Government, Law and Politics

  • American Fact Finder — portal by the U.S. Census Bureau for population, housing, economic, and geographic data
  • American Law Sources Online — Mexico, Canada and the Americas
  • beSpacific — accurate, focused law and technology reviews. Award-winning news aggregator and feed source on topics ranging from e-commerce to intellectual property, digital rights to ID theft, the Patriot Act and more
  • Center for Public Integrity — govt. watchdogs dedicated to investigative journalism on significant issues to make institutional power more transparent and accountable
  • Congress.gov — formerly THOMAS. Browse or search for bills, public laws, the Congressional Record, committee reports, presidential nominations, treaties, roll call votes and more
  • Congress.org — get info on federal, state, and local officials, as well as issue guides and voting records
  • Congressional Research Service Reports — hosted by UNT Libraries, strives to give searchable access to full-text CRS reports from 1990 to present
  • CrimeSolutions.gov — selective clearinghouse of evaluative info on 150 programs in criminal justice, crime victim services and juvenile justice. By the NIJ, National Institute of Justice
  • C-SPAN — video archive of U.S. congressional sessions & hearings dating from 1987 to present. Indexed and searchable by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, committees, categories, policy groups, keywords & location
  • CyberCemetery — provides permanent public access to Web sites of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions
  • Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
  • Europa: Gateway to the European Union
  • FCSM – Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology — Formerly FedStats. Gateway to statistics from hundreds of U.S. federal gov. agencies
  • Federal Register — The Daily Journal of the U.S. Government. Contains rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive orders and other Presidential documents
  • FindLaw — by Thomson Reuters
  • FormSwift — create, edit and electronically sign legal documents for free: personal legal forms, small business legal forms, real estate legal forms and tax forms
  • Government Documents — McDermott Library’s guide to national and state government resources
  • GovInfo — by the GPO. Free access to legislative histories, congressional hearings, presidential documents, House and Senate calendars, US Codes, the Federal Register and more
  • Guide to Law Online — branches of government, constitutions and legal sources for U.S. and international points of origin. By the Library of Congress (LoC)
  • Internal Revenue Service (IRS.gov) — online tax forms and publications, tools and more
  • Law Librarians’ Society of Washington, D.C. – Legislative Sourcebook —  research guides and explanations, and resources lists and links, on legislative histories, Congressional codes and statutes,  federal regulations and more
  • Lawyers.com — search or browse lawyers by name, practice, or location; understand legal issues; find legal help and resources; and more
  • Legal Information Institute (LII) — by the Cornell University Law School
  • MetaLib.gpo.gov [federated government search engine] — by the GPO. Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online
  • Migration Policy Institute — independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide
  • Municipal Codes Online — by American Legal Publishing Corporation
  • Municipal Codes Library — by Municode. Access city/county codes of ordinances from across the country
  • National Governors Association — ultimate resource for info on U.S. governors
  • Opensecrets.org — your guide to money in U.S. politics
  • OYEZ: U.S. Supreme Court Portal — a multimedia archive devoted to making the U.S. Supreme Court accessible to everyone. Search and listen to recordings of Supreme Court oral arguments dating from 1955 onward
  • Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) — allows users to obtain case and docket information from Federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet
  • PublicLegal — by the Internet Legal Research Group (ILRG). A categorized index of thousands of sites from all over the world for legal forms, downloadable files, sources on law and the legal profession and more
  • Recalls.gov — covering automobiles, boats, food, medicine, toys, cosmetics, environmental products & various consumer products
  • Stateline — news and info on the policies and politics of the states. By the Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Statistical Abstracts of the United States — by the U.S. Census Bureau. Coverage from 1878 to 2012. UTD users may access more recent editions through the library catalog
  • Supreme Court — access recent opinions, reports, oral arguments, case documents and more of the U.S. Supreme Court
  • Tax Statistics — produced by the Statistics of Income Division and other areas of the IRS
  • Texas Judicial Branch — the official website of the Texas Courts. A great source for keeping up with new legislation directly impacting the Texas court system, judges, clerks and other judicial actors
  • Texas Law Help — guide to free and low-cost legal aid, assistance & services in Texas
  • United Nations: Audiovisual Library of International Law — view film footage, images & audio relating to the negotiation and adoption of legal instruments pertaining to criminal law, disarmament, human rights, environmental law, treaties & more
  • USA.gov — the U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal – for federal, state and local government info. Your one-stop official search portal for U.S. government info
  • Voting, Election Information & Polls
  • World Policy Institute — striving for informed, open education and debate of national and international policy

Constitutions