Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Chemistry

  • Aldrich Searchable Catalog for Chemicals
  • Chemical Book — for chemical and thermal properties, spectra, and more on a range of chemical compounds
  • Chemical Synthesis Database — contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density
  • ChemSpider — all-in-one chemistry search engine and news blog. Maintained by the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Elemental Data Index — by the National Institute of Standards & Technology
  • EMolecules — open-access chemistry search engine. Draw a structure, search named chemicals, or browse by category
  • General Chemistry Online — common compound database, chemical construction kits, guides to 1st semester general chemistry, calculators, self-guided, interactive tutorials and more to help prepare new chemistry students
  • KnowledgeDoor — online and tablet-friendly conversion calculators; periodic tables; tools for atomic structures, thermodynamics, nomenclature and more. An all-in-one chemistry reference and units & constants handbook for chemistry students and experts alike
  • Learn Chemistry — by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Learn chemistry terms and concepts through presentations, tutorials, quizzes, games and more
  • MatWeb — material property data. Searchable database of material data sheets. Contains data sheets for thousands of metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites
  • Periodic Table on the Web — by WebElements
  • PubChem Project — one-stop chemical research database. Research bio-activities of small molecules, substance info & compound structures. By NIH, NLM (Nat’l Library of Medicine) & PubMed
  • SpectraSchool — by U. Leicester. Plot 1H and 13C NMR, IR, Mass and UV/Vis spectra for a range of compounds. Help you understand the principles and practice of spectroscopy and spectroscopic methods
  • Thermodex — by UT Austin. Index of selected thermodynamic and physical property resources

MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)