Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Business - General

  • AnnualCreditReport.com — government-mandated site to get your credit report for FREE. Managed by the big 3: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion
  • Better Business Bureau — for consumer & business reviews, reports, ratings, complaints, etc.
  • BigCharts — stock charts, screeners, interactive charting and research tools. A service of MarketWatch
  • Business Communication Center (formerly Writing Lab) – Naveen Jindal School of Management — writing and speaking skills lab located in and maintained by the UTD Naveen Jindal School of Management
  • Country Datasee Maps, Atlases & Travel
  • Consumer Price Index (CPI) — monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services
  • Cost of Living Calculators (Sperling’s)
  • Data Ferrett — a data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements
  • Doing Business — database that provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement worldwide. By the World Bank Group
  • ECorner — Stanford’s Entrepreneurship Corner provides a free collection of over 1600 videos and podcasts, featuring lectures by today’s Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders
  • E.H. Net Encyclopedia — of over 70 topics in econ. and business history, written by experts
  • Export.gov — brings together resources from across the U.S. gov. to assist American businesses in international sales: marketing, finance & logistics; licenses & trade regs; trade data & analysis. Features Doing Business In [Country] “how to” commerce guides
  • Global Indicators Group — by the World Bank. Guides and analysis on investing and doing business in other countries. Includes various business indicators and datasets
  • Inflation Calculator — calculate historical inflation in the U.S., 1800-present
  • Investopedia.com — educating the world about finance. Provides succinct coverage of finance-related topics and news
  • MarketWatch — by the WSJ. Stock market quotes, financial news, business news
  • Platts — providing commodity pricing and data on the energy industry – oil, natural gas, petrochemicals and more
  • Recalls.gov — covering motor vehicles, boats, food, medicine, cosmetics, environmental products & consumer products
  • SaferProducts.gov — research the safety of consumer products or report unsafe products you have encountered
  • Small Business Starters Guide — by the Navarro College Small Business Development Center. Find “how to” guides, tutorials, templates and other resources on starting your own business
  • Thinkers 50 — ranks the top 50 most influential business thinkers. Released every 2 years, starting in 2001. Includes podcasts and videos
  • World Bank Open Data — includes the latest World Development Indicators, Microdata Library of household and business survey data, Global Consumption Database and more
  • World Economic Forum — for the publications Global Competitiveness Reports, Global Risk Reports and more
  • World Inequality Database — open access database of income distribution and wealth inequality across the world

Charities and Non-Profits

  • Candid — track corporations’ charitable donations. Formerly Foundation Center and Guidestar
  • Cause IQ — directory of nonprofits, associations, foundations and other organizations
  • Charity Navigator — charity evaluator. Research and select charities based on allocation of expenses
  • GuideStar — national database of nonprofit organizations
  • National Charity Report Directory — brought to you by the Better Business Bureau. Charity reviews, ratings and guides. Formerly Give.org
  • Texas State Charities — by SECC (State Employee Charitable Campaign); a comprehensive list of charities in the state of Texas

Company and Industry

Economics

Finance and Investment