LibGuides: Useful Websites: Language and Literature

Language and Literature

EBooks at UTD — UTD-exclusive materials.
Ethnologue — Resources on languages of the world.
First Line Index of Manuscript Poetry — From the 13th through 19th centuries.
Galactic Central — Treasure trove for readers interested in tracking short fiction in magazines (what has been published where) – SF/fantasy/weird, mysteries, westerns, sports, and love stories.
iLoveLanguages — Comprehensive catalog of online language-related resources: lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, and more.
Literary Encyclopedia — Exploring literature, history, and culture.
LOCUS Online — News, reviews, resources & perspectives of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. The Science Fiction Awards Database (covering Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Bram Stoker, Philip K. Dick awards & more) is available, also.
Lost Titles, Forgotten Rhymes — How to find a novel, short story, or poem without knowing its title or author. By the Library of Congress.
Luminarium — Award-winning anthology of English literature from the Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th Century eras. Includes criticism, essays, images, timelines, and sound clips.
Nobel Prize — International award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics, and peace.
OverDrive: Downloadable Ebooks — Download popular books and audiobooks: bestsellers, travel guides, test prep books, and more. Available to UTD users only.
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature — An ongoing research and reference guide. Browse by time/literary period, author, topic, and more.
Perseus Digital Library — Full-text of ancient texts and more.
Poems, Plays, and Prose : A Guide to the Theory of Literary Genres
Pulitzer Prizes — Official site of U.S.-based award, given yearly since 1917, for achievements in journalism, letters, drama, and music. Includes nominees.
Reading Women Writers and African Literatures — Provides an overview of African women writers writing in French, South of the Sahara. In French and English.
Representative Poetry Online — Includes poetry, criticism, poem index, timeline, glossary, and bibliography.
Romantic Circles — Refereed, scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.
See Translation Services for resources on translating and learning languages..
Victorian Women Writers Project — Complete and accurate transcriptions of texts – anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children’s books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama – by 19th century British women writers.