Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Useful Websites

Images

  • Ad*Access — image database of thousands of U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories – Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda – dated between 1911 and 1955
  • Advertising Archives — over 1 million images in advertising. Search or browse by decade (pre-1900 to present) or category (TV adverts, celebrities, posters and more)
  • American Memory — a digital library of primary source materials from the history and culture of the United States: documents, photos, sound files and film footage.  By the Library of Congress
  • Amon Carter Museum of American Art — thousands of images from the Amon Carter’s Artist Archives tell the social, historical, and economic stories of twentieth-century America
  • Bing Images Search
  • The Commons — pilot project in partnership with the Library of Congress. Increasing access to publicly held photography collections
  • deviantART — the world’s largest online art community, featuring hundreds of millions of pieces of art from tens of millions of artists and art appreciators
  • Flickr.com — member maintained photo sharing site
  • Flickr.com – Creative Commons — Flickr photos offered under the Creative Commons license
  • Google Image Search
  • Heritage Images — search the British Library, British Museum, Museum of London & many other prestigious institutions
  • Imgur — enormous image sharing site that integrates into all the major social media sites
  • Library and Archives Canada — use the dropdown menu on the right side to search images
  • NYPL Digital Collections — explore hundreds of thousands of items digitized from the New York Public Library’s collections: prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video and more
  • Photobucket — video and image sharing service. Search by keyword or browse by category
  • Picsearch — search engine for pictures and images
  • Pixabay – over a million royalty-free stock photos, illustrations, graphics and videos
  • Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) — for primary historical photographic documents
  • Reuters News Service – Pictures
  • Sharedshelf Commons — a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. By the makers of ARTStor (UTD-only database)
  • Symbols.com — online encyclopedia that contains everything about symbols, signs, flags and glyphs arranged by categories such as culture, country, religion, and more
  • Trove — hundreds of thousands of online sources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more. By the National Library of Australia
  • Unsplash – beautiful, free, high-resolution photos
  • Visual Dictionary Online — by Merriam-Webster
  • Wellcome Images — vast collection of images ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science
  • Wikimedia Commons – collection of millions of freely usable media files (images, sounds, videos) to which anyone can contribute