Skip to Main Content

Useful Websites

History

  • American Presidency Project — Search over 85,000 documents such as speeches, official papers, executive orders, news conferences and press briefings, including audio & video, on every US president from 1789 to today.
  • American Rhetoric — More than 5,000 public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates & more (text, audio, and video).
  • Black Journal - The first nationally televised public affairs program produced for, about, and by Black Americans has been released by The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB).
  • Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers — Read newspaper pages from 1789-1924 and get info on newspapers from 1690-present.
  • Digital Civil War Collection — By the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
  • Documenting the American South — Primary sources for the study of the history, literature & culture of the American South. Includes text, images & audio. By the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Documents for the Study of American History — Primary sources in U.S. history from ca. 1000 to today.
  • France in America / France en Amérique — Explore the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th C. to the end of the 19th C. Direct digital access to complete books, maps, prints & other documents in English and French.
  • HistoryNet
  • Institute of Historical Research — Supporting the study of primarily British history.
  • Library of Congress – Digital Collections — Digitized historical documents, photos, sound files and film footage from the National Digital Library, LOC.
  • Ohio University Libraries Digital Archives — Access a rich digital collection of manuscripts, photographs, Civil War correspondence, and other documents of interest. Highlights include the Don Swaim Collection featuring interviews between the journalist and a host of famous authors and editors (e.g., Toni Morrison, Ray Bradbury, and Margaret Atwood).
  • Old Bailey (1674-1913), Proceedings of — Fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London’s central criminal court.
  • Online Library of Liberty — Online library of primary and secondary sources in history, philosophy, politics, art and more. Produced by the conservative foundation, Liberty Fund.
  • Papers of the War Department: 1784-1800 — Access early primary documents of the U.S. War Department.
  • Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using — A reputable guide to finding and using primary sources from numerous online resources. By RUSA, Reference and User Services Association.
  • Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) — For primary source historical photographic documents. By the Library of Congress.
  • Special Collections & Archives, University of Texas at Dallas — Featuring the History of Aviation Collection, Wineburgh Philatelic Library, Belsterling Botanical Collection, University Archives and more.
  • Studs Terkel Radio Archive — In his 45 years on WFMT radio, Studs Terkel talked to the 20th century’s most interesting people. Access thousands of programs arranged topically, by people interviewed, by date, or by keyword
  • Texas History — see Texas category
  • Voice of the Shuttle : Humanities-Related Sites — See the History directory for numerous sources on world and U.S. history.
  • William H. Taft Papers — The world's largest collection of documents related to the 27th U.S. President, containing family papers, personal and official correspondence, speeches and addresses, business and estate papers, scrapbooks, memorabilia, photographs and more from 1784 to 1973, with the bulk of the material dated 1880-1930.