LibGuides: American Studies: Journals & Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about the American workplace available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Employee Rights and Employment Policy Journal
The Employee Rights & Employment Policy Journal is a faculty-edited, peer-reviewed journal housed at Chicago-Kent College of Law.
Journal of Individual Employment Rights
Journal of Individual Employment Rights, published by Sage Publications (formerly Baywood Press), focuses on all human rights that can be affected by the employment relationship.
Journal of Workplace Behavioral Health
The Journal of Workplace Behavioral Health (JWBH), a refereed scholarly global journal, is an essential guide to best practices and research supporting a variety of professionals, whose work is focused on the intersection of the holistic well-being of employees, family members, and work environments implementing innovative practices. The Journal is a vital resource of current workplace-focused practices that support employers, labor organizations and researchers, by addressing employees' work-related stress, behavioral health and well-being, family problems, interpersonal conflict, legal difficulties, grief and loss, and a variety of organizational issues impacting workplace environments.
Journal of Workplace Rights
The Journal of Workplace Rights is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering labor-management relations, employment discrimination, and employment law.
Perspectives on Work
Perspectives on Work is a premier publication in the field of industrial relations and human resources. Perspectives is aimed at engaging practitioners, policymakers, and researchers in analysis and discussion of how to update workplace practices, institutions, and policies to fit today's economy and workforce needs. It seeks to publish thought-provoking articles and columns that encourage creative thinking about the future of work and the policies and institutions that should govern employment relationships.
T+D : better performance through workplace learning
T+D, often referring to training and development, is a strategic approach to enhance workplace learning and improve performance. It involves providing employees with the knowledge, skills, and resources they need to excel in their roles and contribute more effectively to the organization's success.
Workplace Health & Safety
Workplace Health & Safety: Promoting Work Environments Conducive to Well-Being and Productivity is the official publication of the American Association of Occupational Health Nursing, Inc. (AAOHN). It is a scientific peer-reviewed Journal. Its purpose is to support and promote the practice of occupational and environmental health nurses by providing leading edge research findings and evidence-based clinical practices. It publishes articles that span the range of issues facing occupational and environmental health professionals, including emergency and all-hazard preparedness, health promotion, safety, productivity, environmental health, case management, workers' compensation, business and leadership, compliance and information management.

Economist Historical Archive 1842-2020
The weekly news magazine, The Economist, presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-text content of thousands of issues is available and also includes exportable financial tables. The Supplements, Special Reports and Surveys that appear in The Economist are also included as part of the archive.
Forbes Magazine Archive (1917-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in February 1917 through December 2000. This fully searchable full-text archive provides in depth analysis on a variety of business, political and cultural topics.
Fortune Magazine Archive (1930-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in February 1930 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, Fortune provided news and analysis initially from the United States and then later on from across the globe. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
Management POWERSEARCH

Searches the following databases simultaneously: Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, Business Abstracts with Full Text, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News, Small Business Reference Center, and Vocational and Career Collection.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. It includes a wide variety of local, state, national, and international newspapers; business and industry news; company information; SEC filings and reports; accounting literature. The legal research section contains federal and state court decisions, federal and state codes, articles from law reviews, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Some features of this database work best in Chrome.
Wall Street Journal
Provides subscriber access to the full content of the Wall Street Journal online, including daily news and archives. UTD students, faculty, and staff can sign-up for an account. Log in with your net-id and password and fill out the new account form using your utdallas.edu email address.

After creating an account, UTD users can download the WSJ app to access the same content.