LibGuides: American Studies: Journals and Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about women & the workplace available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Gender, Work, and Organization
Launched in 1994, Gender, Work & Organization was the first journal to provide an arena dedicated to debate and analysis of gender relations, the organization of gender and the gendering of organizations. Since then Gender, Work & Organization has published multi-disciplinary, high quality qualitative empirical research on gendered power relations and identities in the study of work and organization exploring issues of inclusion and exclusion. It has also published quantitative work guided by critical epistemologies on issues such as the gender pay gap, flexible work, career patterns, women on boards and access to leadership positions.
Sex Roles
Sex Roles publishes original research articles, theoretical manuscripts and critical reviews concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.
Signs: journal of women in culture and society
Signs: journal of women in culture and society is an interdisciplinary journal of women and society that addresses diversity issues involving race, class, sexual preference. Articles are selected by blind review.
Trillium (1980-1982)
Many of these periodicals are concerned with aiding women build their own careers, businesses, and entrepreneurial ideas. Lectures offering advice on managing finances, owning property, arranging childcare in order to accommodate women's working lives are noted throughout these editions. There are also several articles included in these editions dealing with sexual assault, harassment and gender discrimination in the workplace.
Trillium (1983-1984)
Many of these periodicals are concerned with aiding women build their own careers, businesses, and entrepreneurial ideas. Lectures offering advice on managing finances, owning property, arranging childcare in order to accommodate women's working lives are noted throughout these editions. There are also several articles included in these editions dealing with sexual assault, harassment and gender discrimination in the workplace.
Women in the Workplace Column (Elizabeth Austin and Leslie Whitaker)
This column was published through Knight Ridder/Tribune Business News.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
This collection of primary sources is ideal for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Content spans from the nineteenth century to present and documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.
Gender Studies Database
This database includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, books, and book chapters along with links to preselected websites related to gender studies.

Help searching this database
Gender Studies POWERSEARCH

The Gender Studies Powersearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Gender Studies Database, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.

How to search this database
Social Issues POWERSEARCH
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.