LibGuides: American Studies: Journals & Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about media, culture & society available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Communication & Society
Communication & Society's main goal is to make outstanding research contributions to the field of communication from a variety of perspectives, both theoretical and empirical. It includes journalism studies, advertising, public relations, broadcast and film studies, political communication, ethics, media history, communication policy, political economy, marketing and new media, among others. Methodological rigor and valuable research results are required for review and publication. The evaluation process follows the requirements of double-blind peer review.
Communication, Culture, & Critique
A journal of the International Communication Association, Communication, Culture and Critique (CCC) publishes scholarship that is historically grounded, theoretically informed and addresses the role of media, technology and culture in relation to the myriad “crises” that critical scholars across the academy are increasingly attentive to, whether political, economic, environmental or humanitarian.
Interactions : studies in communication & culture
Interactions aims to encourage the development of the widest possible scholarly community both in terms of geographical location and intellectual scope in the fields of media, communication and cultural studies.
Journal for Communication and Culture
The Journal for Communication and Culture mainly addresses researchers and scholars whose work relates to social sciences or the study of humanities. Authors publishing in JCC are experts or researchers in academic disciplines such as: philosophy, history, religion, literature, linguistics, anthropology, cultural and ethnic studies, political science, psychology, sociology, law and even other formal, natural or applied sciences.
Journal of Social Media in Society
The Journal of Social Media in Society is blind peer-reviewed, open-access, online journal that accepts scholarly articles and book reviews. The journal is devoted to scholarship and commentary on social media and its impact on society. The objective of JSMS is to advance the study of social media with current literature based on theory, research and practice from all methodological frameworks.
Mass Communication & Society
Mass Communication and Society ’s mission is to publish articles on a wide variety of topics that advance mass communication theory, especially at the societal or macrosocial level. It publishes original articles and book reviews on topics related to mass media practices, content, effects, messages, and research methods.
Media, culture, and Society
Media, Culture & Society provides a major international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts. The journal is interdisciplinary, regularly engaging with a wider range of issues in cultural and social analysis. Its focus is on substantive topics and on critique and innovation in theory and method.
Media, Culture and Public Relations
Media, Culture and Public Relations is an academic publication focused on the intersection of media, culture, and public relations, particularly in the context of digital economy and new media. It is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal that explores the social, political, economic, and cultural aspects of communication and media.
New Media & Society
New Media & Society is an international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. New Media & Society engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research.
Social Media + Society
Social Media + Society is an open access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal that focuses on the socio-cultural, political, psychological, historical, economic, legal and policy dimensions of social media in societies past, contemporary and future. We publish interdisciplinary work that draws from the social sciences, humanities and computational social sciences, reaches out to the arts and natural sciences, and we endorse mixed methods and methodologies. The journal is open to a diversity of theoretic paradigms and methodologies.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
The database offers indexing and full text coverage for journals covering communication and mass media.
Life Magazine Archive (1936-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in November 1936 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, this periodical covered events with the United States and around the world through informative captions and documentary photography. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
Mass Media POWERSEARCH
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).

ATEC
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in August 1954 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, Sports Illustrated chronicled the weekly events within sports. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in March 1923 through December 2000. Published Weekly. Time Magazine captured relevant news, political discussions, sports, cultural events, and entertainment from within the United States and around the world.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984)
This comprehensive archive includes United States Daily, 1926 -1933, United States News, 1933-1948, World Report, 1946-1948, and U.S. News & World Report, 1948-1984. The periodical features a broad variety of articles that covered current events, politics, and business.