LibGuides: American Studies: Journals & Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about law, legality, and culture available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Detroit College of Law Entertainment & Sports Law Forum
Vols. 1-4 (1994-1999) All Published; Title Varies: Vols. 1-2 (1994-1995) as Detroit College of Law, Entertainment & Sports Law Forum; Vol. 3 (1998) as Detroit College of Law at Michigan State University Entertainment & Sports Law Journal; Superseded by Journal of Entertainment and Sports Law
Graven Images : a Journal of Culture, Law, and the Sacred
Founded as a journal but now evolving into a book series, Graven Images illuminates culture, the law, and the human urge for transcendence. Graven Images seeks to redefine a space for the sacred in the face of post-modernist materialism.
Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, & Resistance
We are the Indigenous Peoples’ Journal of Law, Culture & Resistance and we are here to serve as a law journal that publishes writings concerning Native Peoples’ cultures, traditions, and histories. We publish with the goal of bettering and advancing Native Nations and Indian People. Our Journal is here to actively resist against the insidious effects of colonialism, racism, and the subjugation of Native Peoples. We promote Native scholarship, both student and faculty, and support Native scholars and voices. We partner with Native communities to publish writings that will bring attention to their specific situations and legal battles. We discuss any and all legal struggles faced by Native Nations and Indian People and in so doing actively seek out publishable material from the traditional as well as the intellectual perspective.
The Journal of Islamic Law & Culture
The Journal of Islamic Law & Culture publishes scholarly articles and reviews on Islamic law, history, politics, and culture. It is especially concerned with the Muslim experience with the West, both in an historical and contemporary context. The Journal is also deeply committed to a global approach that publishes articles related to the jurisprudence, history, politics and cultural concerns of Muslims anywhere in the world.
Journal of Law & Family Studies
The Journal of Law & Family Studies discusses the history of education, publishing of text books and manuals for teaching, and pedagogical thinking and theories of education.
Journal of Law, Philosophy and Culture
The Journal of Law, Philosophy and Culture was published through Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law.
The Journal of Law in Society
Founded in 1997, The Journal of Law in Society is a student-managed publication of Wayne State University Law School that provides scholarly discourse on the intersection of law and society. Each year, the Journal identifies a range of issues affecting Detroit and other parts of the world, and then publishes articles that address those issues within their social context. By way of research and scholarship, the Journal aims to connect Detroit to broader national and international discourse, as well as serve as an educational and practical tool for its audience.
Law & Society Review
Founded in 1966 as the official journal of the Law and Society Association, Law & Society Review is regarded by sociolegal scholars worldwide as a leading journal in the field. LSR is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes sociolegal scholarship on the relationship between society and the law, laws, legal institutions, and legal processes. Such scholarship includes theoretically motivated empirical articles (whether using qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods), purely theoretical essays (drawing on secondary literature) that contribute to important debates within the field of law and society, and reviews of books published by law and society scholars.
Law, Culture and the Humanities
Our mission is to publish high quality peer reviewed work at the intersection of scholarship on law, culture, and the humanities. All commentaries, articles and review essays are peer reviewed. We provide a publishing vehicle for scholars engaged in interdisciplinary, humanistically oriented legal scholarship. We publish a wide range of scholarship in legal history, legal theory and jurisprudence, law and cultural studies, law and literature, and legal hermeneutics.
Yale Journal of Law & the Humanities
Since its inception in 1989, the Yale Journal of Law & the Humanities (YJLH) has been a premier forum for examining the intersection of law and the liberal arts. Grounded in awareness that cutting-edge interdisciplinary exploration is crucial to a fuller understanding of both the law and the world at large, YJLH provides a unique intellectual arena to scholars of several disciplines.

Gale LegalForms
Gale LegalForms offers a collection of various types of samples of legal documents. It allows users to create actual legal documents. The Law Digest also contains information about cases, statutes, legal terms and concepts, and other documents.
HeinOnline Academic

Begin your legal research with HeinOnline--a collection providing the U.S. Code, U.S. Congressional Documents, the U.S. Serial Set, the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, and the U. S. Statutes at Large. Regulatory titles include the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Federal agency documents, decisions, and appeals. Other assets include the U.S. Presidential Library, Foreign Relations of the United States, the Supreme Court Library, U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, World Constitutions and other files which are always evolving. Provides the Texas State Package Constitutions, Texas Attorney General Opinions, Texas Session Laws, and State Statutes.
Legal POWERSEARCH
Searches following databases simultaneously: Legal Collection, and Legal Information Reference Center.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. It includes a wide variety of local, state, national, and international newspapers; business and industry news; company information; SEC filings and reports; accounting literature. The legal research section contains federal and state court decisions, federal and state codes, articles from law reviews, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Some features of this database work best in Chrome.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts draws information from an international selection of hundreds of journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Subjects include community development, family and social work, group interactions, religion, women's studies, social psychology, and demography.