LibGuides: American Studies: Journals & Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about the arts in American culture available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

American Art
American Art publishes innovative peer-reviewed scholarship on the history of art and related visual culture. The journal critically engages with the material and conceptual conditions of art and provides a forum for the expanding field of American art history. It welcomes scholarship on the role played by art in the ongoing transnational and transcultural formation of America as a contested geography, identity, and idea.
American Art Journal
The American Art Journal published important articles of new scholarship on American painting, sculpture, decorative arts, photography, architecture, and cultural history. It was founded by Lawrence A. Fleischman in 1969 and published by Kennedy Galleries, Inc, New York, through 2004.
Art in America
Art in America (A. i A.) is an illustrated quarterly, international magazine concentrating on the contemporary art world in the United States, including profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and event schedules. It is designed for collectors, artists, art dealers, art professionals and other readers interested in the art world.
New American Paintings
First published in 1993, New American Paintings is bimonthly juried exhibition in print. Each regionally-focused edition features the work of forty painters. Working with curators from the nation’s top museums, we review the work of more than five thousand artists a year and publish the best we find.
Smithsonian Studies in American Art
First published in 1987 as Smithsonian Studies in American Art, in 1990 the journal title was changed to American Art.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Part of the Web of Science Core Collection, A&HCI contains citations and bibliographic information for hundreds of leading journals in the fields of art, architecture, history, literature, music, film, philosophy, dance, religion, and more. This index features analysis and sorting of articles by the amount of times they have been used or cited.
Arts/Architecture/Photography POWERSEARCH

Searches the following databases simultaneously: Art & Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art database covering Western and non-Western visual art and includes current articles and bibliographies. The resource also includes the full text of Grove Dictionary of Art and is part of the larger Oxford Art Online database, which contains the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Help searching this database
Life Magazine Archive (1936-2000)
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in November 1936 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, this periodical covered events with the United States and around the world through informative captions and documentary photography. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary exploration of the modernist period, covering eight key subject areas: Architecture, Dance, Drama/Performance, Film, Intellectual Currents, Literature, Music, and Visual Arts. Researchers can navigate by subject, movement, and location, with cross-references to assist in the discovery of connections between significant modernist topics and fields.
Vogue Archive

This database contains digital copies of Vogue, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's commercial artists, stylists, and photographers and is a unique record of fashion, culture, advertising, and society from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.