LibGuides: American Studies: Journals and Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about race & ethnicity in American culture available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Harvard Journal on Racial & Ethnic Justice
The Harvard Journal on Racial & Ethnic Justice is published annually by Harvard Law School students.
Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity
The Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity (JCSCORE) is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal launched in 2015. Published by the University of Oklahoma Libraries, JCSCORE is the official journal of the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity in American Higher Education (NCORE), a production of the Southwest Center for Human Relations Studies at the University of Oklahoma Outreach. JCSCORE promotes an exchange of ideas that can transform lives, enhance learning, and improve human relations in higher education. It explores and examines interactions from interdisciplinary perspectives and reports on the status, needs, and direction of human relations studies affected by race, ethnicity, and sovereignty in higher education policy, practice, and theory. JCSCORE accepts manuscripts on a rolling basis.
Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice
The Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice explores the prejudice that currently affects our judicial system, our courts, our prisons, and our neighborhoods all around the world. This unique multidisciplinary journal is the only publication that focuses exclusively on crime, criminal justice, and ethnicity/race. Here you'll find insightful commentaries, position papers, and examinations of new and existing legislation by scholars and professionals committed to the study of ethnicity and criminal justice. In addition, the Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice presents the latest empirical findings, theoretical discussion, and research on social and criminal justice issues. It also provides scholarly thoughts and informed opinions on current and controversial issues, including racial profiling, race and death penalty, drug laws and minorities, and felony disenfranchisement laws and ethnicity.
Journal of Ethnicity in Substance Abuse
The Journal of Ethnicity in Substance Abuse presents rigorous new studies and research on ethnicity and cultural variation in alcohol, tobacco, licit and illicit forms of substance use and abuse. The research is drawn from many disciplines and interdisciplinary areas in the social and behavioral sciences, public health, and helping professions. The Journal of Ethnicity in Substance Abuse is an international forum for identification of emergent and culturally diverse substance use and abuse trends, and the implementation of culturally competent strategies in harm reduction, individual, group, and family treatment of substance abuse. The Journal systematically investigates the beliefs, attitudes, and values of substance abusers, searching for the answers to the origins of drug use and abuse for different ethnic groups. The Journal publishes research papers, review papers, policy commentaries, and conference proceedings.
The Journal of Ethnic Studies
The Journal of Ethnic Studies was published out of Western Washington State College, in Bellingham, Washington.
The Journal of Race & Policy
Journal of Race & Policy, published at Old Dominion University, contains significant research by scholars from several disciplines using a variety of approaches and methodology; considers and weighs the meaning and implication of race in the 21st century in Hampton Roads, Virginia, and the United States.
Journal of Transnational American Studies
The Journal of Transnational American Studies (JTAS) functions as an open-access, stringently peer-reviewed forum for Americanists in the global academic community, where scholars are increasingly interrogating borders both within and outside the nation and focusing instead on the multiple intersections and exchanges that flow across those borders. Moving beyond disciplinary and geographic boundaries that might confine the field of American Studies, JTAS is a new critical conduit that brings together innovative transnational work from diverse, but often disconnected, sites in the US and abroad.

African American Communities
AAC presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
America: History and Life
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
Historical African American Newspapers POWERSEARCH

The Historical African American Newspaper PowerSearch searches the following newspaper databases simultaneously: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Chicago Defender‎ (1910-2010), Louisville Defender‎ (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922-2010), Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911-2010), Baltimore Afro American Historical Archive (1893-2010), Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010).
Latin American Public Opinion Project
The Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) contains high quality surveys of the democratic values, opinions and behaviors of citizens in the Americas, including North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction (LALI) is comprised of hundreds of plays and more than 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Documents are available in their original language. A considerable quantity of rare or previously unpublished works may also be found here, in addition to supplementary materials like playbills, book covers, photographs, and audio files.

How to search this database
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts contains thousands of bibliographic records from various magazines and journals relevant to the study of race relations.
Race Relations in America
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University’s Race Relations Department (1943-1970), including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. Explore key themes such as the desegregation of schools, industries, and public transport; the migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers; the role of the church in the civil rights movement; race riots and other racial tensions; and more.
Social Issues POWERSEARCH
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
Urban Studies POWERSEARCH

This POWERSEARCH searches all of these databases simultaneously: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, EconLit, Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), and SocINDEX.