LibGuides: American Studies: Journals & Databases

Journals & Databases

Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about technology & society available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.

Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society
The Bulletin of Science, Technology and Society provides communication within as wide a spectrum of the science, technology, and society (STS) community as possible, including faculty and students from sciences, engineering, the humanities, education, and behavioral and social sciences that teach integrative STS subject matters. It includes professionals in government, industry, and universities, ranging from philosophers and historians of science to social scientists concerned with how science and technology affect their own study and policymaking. Yet a third category of readers represents "society": journalists addressing the impacts of science and technology, public interest groups, and the attentive public.
Engaging Science, Technology, and Society
Engaging Science, Technology, and Society (ESTS), published by The Society for Social Studies of Science (4S), is a vibrant, fully open access (OA) journal for cultivating, evaluating, and sharing cutting-edge research in the social studies of science, technology, and medicine in transnational contexts. Established in 2015, ESTS publishes peer-reviewed articles, thematic collections, and a wide variety of short-form writing that engage both scholarly and broader audiences.
Journal of Urban Technology
The goal of the Journal of Urban Technology is, through education and discussion, to maximize the positive and minimize the adverse effects of technology on cities. The journal provides a forum for a dialogue between specialists and non-specialists (or among practitioners of different specialities) and is designed for both scholars and a general audience whose businesses, occupations, professions, or studies require that they understand how technologies affect and are affected by urban environments. The Journal of Urban Technology publishes articles that review and analyze developments in urban technologies as well as articles that study the history and the political, economic, environmental, social, aesthetic, and ethical effects of those technologies.
New Atlantis : A Journal of Technology and Society
New Atlantis: A Journal of Technology & Society aims to clarify the nation's moral and political understanding of all areas of technology- from stem cells to hydrogen cells to weapons of mass destruction.
Science, Technology, & Human Values
Science, Technology, & Human Values (ST&HV) is a peer-reviewed academic journal that examines the relationship between science, technology, and society. It explores how these fields intersect with politics, economics, culture, and human values. The journal, published by the Society for Social Studies of Science in conjunction with SAGE Publications, serves as a platform for research, analysis, and debate on the development and dynamics of science and technology.
Technology and Culture: The International Quarterly of The Society for the History of Technology
Technology and Culture is the quarterly interdisciplinary journal of the Society for the History of Technology. The international journal publishes the work of historians, engineers, scientists, museum curators, archivists, sociologists, anthropologists, and others, on topics ranging from agriculture to zippers. Technology and Culture regularly includes scholarly articles, book reviews, museum exhibit reviews, and critical essays. The society's Current Bibliography in the History of Technology also appears under the banner of Technology and Culture.
Technology in Society
Technology in Society is an international journal devoted to the global discourse at the intersection of technological change and the social, economic, business and philosophical transformation of the world around around us. The goal of the journal is to provide scholarship that enables decision-makers to thoughtfully and intentionally engage in the decisions that shape this dynamic. The common thread across these fields is the role of technology in society across economic, political and cultural dynamics. Scholarly work in Technology in Society focuses on the social forces that shape technological decisions and the choices that are open to society with respect to technology uses.

Applied Science & Technology Source
Applied Science & Technology Source contains full-text articles from almost 1,200 journals as well as additional citations to millions of articles. The coverage includes research and development issues in the disciplines of applied sciences and computing from leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online (McGraw-Hill)
This encyclopedia provides access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, and research updates in areas of science and technology and is updated daily. It also includes thousands of biographies of scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.

How to search this database
Project Muse (electronic journals and ebooks from Johns Hopkins Press)
Project MUSE provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences from 1993 to current. Beginning in 2025, some Project Muse journals will benefit from a Subscribe 2 Open (S2O) program. Journals that are part of the program and that reach a sustainability threshold, as determined by Project Muse, will have articles converted to open access at no additional cost.

Learn more about S2O here. Questions about this program can be sent to Davin Pate at djp130330@utdallas.edu.