Below is a listing of links to journals and databases about American popular culture available through the Eugene McDermott Library. These resources will be useful to students, professors, and researchers at the University of Texas at Dallas and beyond.
AAC presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Art & Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
The Film Powersearch searches all of these databases simultaneously: Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson),Essay and General Literature Index
(H.W. Wilson), Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson),Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities International Index and MLA International Bibliography.
Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in November 1936 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, this periodical covered events with the United States and around the world through informative captions and documentary photography. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in August 1954 through December 2000. Published by Time Magazine, Sports Illustrated chronicled the weekly events within sports. Database Includes fully indexed articles and cover pages. In addition, advertisements are individually identified.
This comprehensive archive begins with the first issue in March 1923 through December 2000. Published Weekly. Time Magazine captured relevant news, political discussions, sports, cultural events, and entertainment from within the United States and around the world.