About This Guide
This guide is designed to support academic research and personal interest in the contributions and cultural diversity of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States since the 1840's. The Asian population in the U.S. is very diverse with over 20 million Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who can trace their roots to more than 20 countries in East and Southeast Asia and the Indian subcontinent. These groups each have unique histories, cultures, languages, and other characteristics.
There are a multitude of resources available in the Eugene McDermott Library at The University of Texas at Dallas but this guide is designed to offer just a brief compilation. It serves as a suggested starting place to inform students, faculty, staff, and our community users about the McDermott Library's resources for learning more about Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, their history, and culture in the United States.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau
Top 5 Resources
These top five resources are great starting points:
- Library of Congress: Asian Americans & Pacific IslandersThe Library of Congress is a research library that collects, preserves, and provides access to information resources about all people in the United States.
- ARTStorNotice: ArtStor will merge with JSTOR on 8/1/2024, Check JSTOR for all ArtStor content.
ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It features high resolution zooming, printing and customizable, shareable image sets. Usage rights are cleared for educational use, and teaching resources like surveys, presentations and curriculum guides are available as well. - HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
- MLA International BibliographyAn index to periodicals and collections of essays published since 1921, MLA covers the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, and is an important index for literary criticism.
Relevant Guides
The Eugene McDermott Librarians have created many helpful research guides that will introduce you to some of the best resources for assignments, course work, and leisure in many subject areas. These research guides are called LibGuides and are great places to start your research.