About: Reference Materials
Reference materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks are a great way to learn terminology, important people, places or events, and related concepts when exploring a new topic.
Use the Library Catalog tab to search print and electronic reference materials, or visit the general reference databases page.
Here is a books-only search for your convenience! Try title, author, subject, or keywords.
Selected Reference Titles
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture by
In the past four decades the field of Asian American literary and cultural studies has grown enormously, expanding its areas of inquiry beyond the reflections on national identity and citizenship to encompass such issues as transnational and diasporic identities and communities; the workingsof imperialism; the intersectionality of race, gender, and sexuality; and social justice/human rights in a global context. This project is the largest and most comprehensive collection of scholarship on Asian American literature and culture to date. With original essays on everything from AsianAmerican literary classics to experimental theater, from K-pop to online gaming, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture guides both established scholars and readers new to this field through the extensive landscape of Asian American writing and cultural production.One hundred essays on varied historical periods, geographical locales, and artistic modes offer an extensive examination of racial representation and activism, interdisciplinary and comparative approaches to literary work, ethnic communities, space and place, transnational and transpacific flows,and genres such as speculative fiction, the detective novel, and melodrama. Along with literary works from the late-19th century to the 21st century, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture covers a wide-ranging selection of Asian American theatre, dance, music, visual arts,film, television, and media. With its illuminating and profound commentary on Asian American writing and artistic practice, the volumes survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary andcultural traditions.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020
Career Dynamics in a Global World by
Career Dynamics in a Global Worldtakes on a major question in the global research and practice of career development and adopts a distinctive approach in response. The authors address the question of how and to what extent a predominant influence of Western thinking about careers interferes with our understanding of careers in other parts of the world. The approach involves identifying career topics for further exploration, recruiting teams of Indian and Western scholars on each topic to share their insights, and laying out those insights to help both careers researchers and practitioners see their significance. As a result, in this remarkable collaboration the reader is invited to compare views on self-awareness and careers from traditional Indian Ayurvedic and alternative Western perspectives, alongside contrasting Indian and Western reports on women stepping off their career ladders, the motivation of social entrepreneurs, the careers of IT workers, MBA holders and management scholars and other topics. Career and cross-cultural researchers and career and HR practitioners will be fascinated by the comparative analysis of career dynamics.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020
Happiness in World History by
"Happiness in World History traces ideas and experiences of happiness from early stages in human history, to the maturation of agricultural societies and their religious and philosophical systems, to the changes and diversities in the approach to happiness in the modern societies that began to emerge in the 18th century. In this thorough overview, Peter N. Stearns explores the interaction between psychological and historical findings about happiness, the relationship between ideas and popular experience, and the opportunity to use historical analysis to assess strengths and weaknesses of dominant contemporary notions of happiness. Starting with the advent of agriculture, the book assesses major transitions in history for patterns in happiness, including the impact of the great religions, the unprecedented Enlightenment interest in secular happiness and cheerfulness, and industrialization and imperialism. The final, contemporary section covers fascist and communist efforts to define alternatives to Western ideas of happiness, the increasing connections with consumerism, and growing global interests in defining and promoting well-being. Touching on the experiences in the major regions of Asia, Africa, Latin America, Europe, and North America, the text offers an expansive introduction to a new field of study. This book will be of interest to students of world history and the history of emotions"--
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2021
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World by
An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. Readers of this one-volume reference will gain useful knowledge of what travelers should and shouldn't do when in countries outside of the United States. After a general introduction, approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics such as greeting and meeting, appearance and dress, table manners, body language, social situations and hospitality, verbal communications, business etiquette, religious etiquette, gift-giving, and even "netiquette" regarding social media. Sidebars and images throughout make the text more accessible and engaging, and additional readings at the end of each entry as well as the bibliography offer opportunities for further research on the subject. The content also directly supports the National Geography Standards and the AP Human Geography curriculum for high school students as they learn about the cultural differences and characteristics of people in major ethnic groups across the globe. Provides comprehensive coverage of many of the world's countries and cultures that enables readers to make insightful cross-cultural comparisons Directly supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics Provides relevant and useful information for readers preparing for study-abroad excursions or other international travel
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1440838208Publication Date: 2017
Modern Japan by
First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2017
Concept Exploration With Credo
Credo pushes online reference further, offering full-text articles and visual aids like videos and mind maps to help you explore topics and their related concepts in depth.