Databases - Find Articles - Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Useful Databases

The following databases are suggested for research about Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States.

American Memory Historical Collection for the National Digital Library
These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. They provide a useful digital archive of primary documents in American history.
Asian American Drama
Asian American Drama brings together hundreds of plays by dozens of playrights beginning with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The plays have relevance to the study of literature, drama, Asian-American studies, history, culture, and more.
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Resources is a research tool that allows researchers to cross-search multiple primary source databases using a single search box. It includes the following databases: Archives Unbound, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, and Sabin Americana 1500-1926 as well as the historical archives of several major periodicals (The Economist, Punch, The Times and more). Each database can also be searched individually.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index (with abstracts) to journals published worldwide in many languages. Fields include all branches of world history, including, political, diplomatic, religious, economic, social, cultural, and military history. Many full-text articles are included. (NOTE: For U.S. and Canadian history, use America: History and Life.)
Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford Reference Online (ORO) database contains the full text of hundreds of reference books and dozens of English and bilingual dictionaries. It also includes in-depth articles on various topics, links to valuable web resources, and thousands of maps and illustrations.
PAIS International
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is an index to periodical articles, books, and international, federal and state documents published since 1915. Subjects covered include economics, the media, health conditions, banking and business, politics, law and ethics, social issues, and public administration.
ProQuest Databases
ProQuest Databases: Provides access to many databases published by ProQuest Company.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.