A legal treatise is a comprehensive publication on an individual topic, typically written by a law professor, judge, lawyer, or legal scholar. Treatises may be multi-volume sets or individual texts. Lawyers and legal scholars rely heavily on treatises for their detailed coverage and practical tips. While content varies tremendously, researchers can usually find thorough explanations of the law at issue along with citations to relevant cases, statutes, regulations, and other secondary sources.

 

American Law & Jurisprudence

Introduction to the Legal System of the United States: In this classic text, which has been translated into more than a dozen languages, constitutional scholar E. Allan Farnsworth provides a clear explanation of the structure and function of the U.S. legal system. An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States is designed to be a general introduction to the structure and function of the legal system of the United States, and is especially useful for readers who lack familiarity with fundamental establishments and practices. This text also gives readers a clear understanding of how to research the law, the importance of case law versus statutes, and the difference between private and public law.

 

Animal Law

Animal Law and Welfare: international perspectives: This book focuses on animal laws and animal welfare in major jurisdictions in the world, including the more developed legal regimes for animal protection of the United States, UK, Australia, the EU, and Israel, and the regulatory regimes still developing in China, South Africa, and Brazil. It offers in-depth analyses and discussions of topical and important issues in animal laws and animal welfare, and provides a comprehensive and comparative snapshot of some of the most important countries in the world in terms of animal population and worsening animal cruelty. Among the issues discussed are international law topics that relate to animals, including the latest WTO ruling on seal products and the EU ban, the Blackfish story and U.S. law for cetaceans, the wildlife trafficking and crimes related to Africa and China, and historical and current animal protection laws in the UK and Australia.

Animals and Criminal Justice: This book depicts animals' roles within society and the laws that govern how humans treat them. Carmen M. Cusack focuses on current issues in human-animal relationships and how these are affected by the criminal justice system. Her analysis, while objective, is rooted in firsthand activist, professional, legal, and criminal justice experience. She presents a comprehensive overview of the place of animals and the law, including pets in prison, K-9 units, constitutional rights, animal sacrifice, wild animals, entertainment, domestic violence, rehabilitation, history, and religion. 

Animals and the Law: a sourcebook: This text offers a comprehensive overview of legislation and legal issues surrounding animals. It Includes a list of major animal organizations actively engaged in legal matters on a national level. Also included are a tables of cases, authorities, statutes, and regulations.

 

Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy and Related Law in a Nutshell:  This is the classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for almost 50 years. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, students have found this short book even more helpful in comprehending reading assignments, contributing to class discussions, and answering exam questions.

Collier on Bankruptcy: Written and edited by leading scholars and practitioners, Collier on Bankruptcy is the benchmark resource in the bankruptcy field. Since the enactment of the Bankruptcy Code, it has been cited over 20,000 times by the courts. Collier was first cited by the U.S. Supreme Court in 1905, and most recently in 2011.

 

Constitutional Law

American Constitutional Law: This text focuses on the Constitution's provisions for government structure and on how constitutional structure helps guarantee protection of substantive rights and liberties. It promises to be an indispensable resource for teachers, students, practicing lawyers, and judges. This preeminent treatise provides a wealth of original, insightful, and influential analysis of constitutional law doctrine and policy.

American State Constitutional Tradition: In The American State Constitutional Tradition, John Dinan shows that state constitutions are much more than mere echoes of the federal document. The first comprehensive study of all 114 state constitutional conventions for which there are recorded debates, his book shows that state constitutional debates in many ways better reflect the accumulated wisdom of American constitution-makers than do the more traditional studies of the U.S. Constitution. 

 

Copyright

Nimmer on Copyright: This definitive work on copyright law is a rich resource for the expert as well as the practitioner just beginning to explore the arena. Nimmer on Copyright has appeal both to the domestic and international audience.

 

Education Law

Law of Higher Education: This text is an up-to-date and comprehensive reference, research source, and practical legal guide for college and university administrators, campus attorneys, legal counsel, and institutional researchers, addressing all the major legal issues and regulatory developments in higher education.

 

International Law

Restatement of the Law, Second: foreign relations law of the United States: This volume is a 679-page book published in 1965 by the American Law Institute (ALI) that includes parts of international law and domestic law. International law governs the legal aspects of relations between nations, while foreign relations law includes international law and domestic law that is related to foreign relations. The book represents the ALI's opinion on the rules that an international tribunal would apply to decide a controversy in accordance with international law.

Restatement of the Law, the Foreign Relations Law of the United States: This volume consists of international law as it applies to the United States, and domestic law that has substantial impact on the foreign relations of the United States or has other important international consequences. 

 

Law & Philosophy

Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory: This text is a handy guide to the state of play in contemporary philosophy of law and legal theory. It comprises 23 critical essays on the central themes and issues of the philosophy of law today, written by an international assembly of distinguished philosophers and legal theorists. Each essay incorporates essential background material on the history and logic of the topic, as well as advancing the arguments.

Law's Empire: With the incisiveness and lucid style for which he is renowned, Ronald Dworkin has written a masterful explanation of how the Anglo-American legal system works and on what principles it is grounded. Law's Empire is a full-length presentation of his theory of law that will be studied and debated--by scholars and theorists, by lawyers and judges, by students and political activists--for years to come. Dworkin begins with the question that is at the heart of the whole legal system: in difficult cases how do (and how should) judges decide what the law is?

 

Native American Law

American Indian Law Deskbook: This volume is a current, comprehensive treatise on Indian law. It provides readers with the necessary historical and legal framework to understand the complexities faced by states, Indian tribes, and the federal government in Indian country.

Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Laws: This text is an encyclopedic treatise written by experts in the field, and provides general overviews to relevant information, as well as in-depth study of specific areas within this complex area of federal law. This is an updated and revised edition of what has been referred to as the bible of federal Indian law. This publication focuses on the relationship between tribes, the states, and the federal government, within the context of civil and criminal jurisdiction, as well as areas of resource management and government structure.

 

Negotiation 

Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution: This text provides a clear and reliable statement of the law and concepts central to ADR (arbitration, negotiation, mediation, and other processes). Its thorough coverage of arbitration law renders this challenging and rapidly-changing body of statutes and case law accessible to the student or lawyer. The chapters on negotiation and mediation treat the subjects from the perspectives of theory, practice, and legal doctrine.

 

Nonprofit Corporations

Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations: The authoritative reference for nonprofit law, by leading expert Bruce R. Hopkins, The Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations details the complex set of statutes and regulations that govern this diverse category of organizations, IRS rulings, and court opinions. This text includes the most up-to-date coverage of subjects such as: nonprofit governance, and new rules for donor advised funds and supporting organizations, updates on unrelated business activities. Discussion of subjects such as the private inurement doctrine and private benefit doctrine have been expanded in light of recent IRS ruling activity. 

 

Taxation

Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders: Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders provides guidance on navigating the tax code, both present and future, so you can provide the most benefit to your corporation or shareholders. You’ll get the deep understanding of complex tax matters you need to make the best tax decisions and develop the best corporate tax strategies. You’ll get expert advice on tax matters such as mergers and acquisitions, corporate divisions, consolidated returns, and corporate reorganizations.