Legal dictionaries include definitions of legal terms and phrases, which often have very specific and complex meanings. These dictionaries also include judicially-defined terms and references to cited authority. Legal dictionaries are arranged in the same manner as standard dictionaries. Ballentine's Law Dictionary, With Pronunciations and Black's Law Dictionary are two of the most commonly consulted legal dictionaries.

Ballentine's Law Dictionary, With Pronunciations: This legal dictionary contains more than 40,000 definitions of legal terms and is one of the most commonly consulted legal dictionaries.

Black's Law Dictionary: This edition of Black's Law Dictionary includes more than 55,000 definitions of legal terms and phrases. It also includes earliest usage dates, a pronunciation guide, and cross-references to legal encyclopedias. Along with Ballentine's Law Dictionary, With Pronunciations, Black's Law Dictionary is one of the most commonly consulted legal dictionaries.

Bouvier's Law Dictionary: This legal dictionary has a long tradition in the United States legal community for understanding obsolete terms and amplifying their meanings in the American context.

Bruce R. Hopkins' Nonprofit Law Dictionary: This legal dictionary defines nearly 2,000 of the most important terms in the nonprofit lexicon.

Children, Young Adults, and the Law: a dictionary: This legal dictionary contains more than 200 entries, which include numerous cross-references in bold type that lead readers to other related articles. This book begins with a historical overview of the development of the law related to children and ends with a table of cases and statutes mentioned in the text, an annotated list for further reading, and a helpful index.

Constitutional Law Dictionary: This specialized legal dictionary provides definitions and references to numerous legal terms and phrases.

Definitions for the Law of the Sea: terms not defined by the 1982 convention: This dictionary includes more than 200 terms not defined in the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. The book also includes commentary and analyses from oceans law experts, as well as updated references and clarified citation forms.

Dictionary of International Human Rights Law: This legal dictionary includes definitions of 64 rights in international treaties and four "declared" rights. The dictionary also provides landmarks and cross-references.

Dictionary of Law: This legal dictionary provides the user with a comprehensive dictionary of everyday legal terms in English. It comprises a basic vocabulary of 7,000 words and expressions used in British, American, and international law -- serving not just as a dictionary of law but as a dictionary, as well, of comparative law. Definitions are presented in simple English; they also include short grammatical notes, and examples are given of the words used in context.

Dictionary of Legal Terms: a simplified guide to the language of law: This legal dictionary includes approximately 3,000 legal terms, defined for the lay person. A pronunciation guide and a consumer's guide to law are included.

Dictionary of Legal Terms: Spanish-English and English-Spanish: This legal dictionary provides definitions and interpretations of legal terms in Spanish and in English.

Dictionary of Property and Construction Law: This dictionary provides a clear and concise explanation of terms used in land, property, and construction law and management. The four key areas of coverage include: planning/construction law, land law, equity/trusts, and finance and administration.

Dictionary of Public International Law: This legal dictionary contains more than 8,500 entries that explain more than 11,200 phrases and law-related words. The dictionary also includes a glossary of foreign terms, tables of cases and treaties, and an introduction.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law: This legal dictionary includes more than 5,000 legal topics in 14 volumes. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of law topics, including current information on legal terms, concepts, major statutes, leading cases, and important documents.

Homosexuality and the Law: a dictionary: This legal dictionary, part of the Contemporary Legal Issues series, includes 112 entries on such subjects as absurd sex laws, surgical alterations, discrimination, and more. In addition, the book includes a list of advocacy organizations and other references, a table of cases, and an extensive bibliography.

Legal Dictionary for Museum Professionals: This legal dictionary provides explanations and clarifications on a variety of legal issues and concerns facing today's museum professional in more than 200 plain-language dictionary entries. Alphabetized and extensively cross-referenced, this text will provide a quick go-to when a general introduction to or refresher of a concept is needed.

Native Americans and the Law: a dictionary: This legal dictionary, part of the Contemporary Legal Issues series, defines a total of 250 terms relative to the study of law and Native Americans.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law: This legal dictionary is a four-volume legal dictionary that includes more than 4,000 pages of entries and 1,300 subject entries.

Oran's Dictionary of the Law: This legal dictionary has more than 12,000 definitions across nearly 6,000 main headings. The dictionary is designed for law-related professionals and paralegals. It includes a "Basic 50 Words" list to help readers learn the terms they need to know about the law.

Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law: This legal dictionary contains more than 2,500 entries on international law, providing the researcher with copious references for additional research, including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.

Practical Guide to Humanitarian Law: This legal dictionary provides the precise meaning and content to more than 200 terms, such as terrorism, refugee, and genocide, words that the media has introduced into everyday conversation, yet whose legal and political meanings are often obscure. The dictionary definitively explains the terms, concepts, and rules of humanitarian law in accessible and reader-friendly alphabetical entries.

Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary: This biographical dictionary examines the court tenure of 107 Justices and outlines their contributions to American law; includes an index of cases.

West's Law and Commercial Dictionary in Five Languages : definitions of the legal and commercial terms and phrases of American, English, and civil law jurisdictions: This legal dictionary defines legal and commercial terms and phrases in American, English, and civil law. The dictionary contains more than 55,000 legal words and phrases with historical context.

West's Spanish-English/English-Spanish law dictionary : translations of terms, phrases, and definitions of concepts of modern Spanish and English legal terminology: This legal dictionary provides definitions of legal and commercial terms and phrases in English, American, and civil law. The dictionary also includes translations of terms, phrases, and concepts into modern Spanish and English.