Subject Librarian
Use AI ethically and cite correctly when you do.
Accessible Artificial Intelligence is expanding rapidly and shaking the academic and publishing worlds. These computer programs can do a good job at guessing how experts in many fields might respond to questions or prompts. It is important to understand that the programs are not searching for information, not evaluating merit, and most importantly: they aren't thinking. They guess or predict text. Do not be fooled into treating generative artificial intelligence as fact or reliable evidence. There will be times when it is appropriate to use ChatGPT or other programs academically, but there is great risk of accidentally plagiarizing existing publications or creating false citations.
If you do use AI to complete part of a project, you must cite this information so it is clear where that content came from. The academic world is still figuring out the rules to do this properly.
Here is a useful link that explains how to cite AI in the most common Academic formats.
How to Read a Citation
- How to Read a Citation (PDF)Detailed instructions on how to decipher citations and find materials in the library.
Online Writing & Citation Style Resources
CITING SOURCES
- IEEE Author Digital Tools - contains tools and information to assist with article preparation and submission, the article templates, a list of abbreviations for IEEE transactions and journals, and more.
- IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors (PDF)
- IEEE Computer Society Style Guide: Example References - by Ann Smith of Acadia University
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science
- Writing Technical Articles
- UTD's Useful Websites includes a section for Citation & Style Manuals, which lists web sites offering tips, tools, and examples of citations in several different styles.
- Writing Center - Student Success Center -- UTD on-campus writing lab. The center will check spelling, grammar, and bibliographic references (citations), but strongly encourages students to make an appointment in advance.
-
Citation Resources -- UTD Libraries' guide to citation resources and bibliographic managers.
Suggested Writing Manuals & Citation Style Guides
Copies of most citation manuals can be found at the Reference Desk, and some are available for check out in the Main Stacks. Check the catalog for availability. Most Web sites do not fully reproduce the writing manuals, but they often contain examples of frequently asked citation questions and list more up-to-date information on citing electronic sources. Access e-books through the catalog (DISCOVER).
The Craft of Research by
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
Elements of Style by
Every English-language writer knows Strunk and White's famous little writing manual, The Elements of Style. Many people between the ages of seventeen and seventy can recite the book's mantra - make every word tell - and still refer to their tattered grade school copy when in need of a hint on how to make a turn of phrase clearer, or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active voice. Considering that millions of copies have been sold to millions of devotees, you might not think to ask what could enhance this (almost) perfect classic. In fact, the addition of illustrations allows readers to experience the book's contents in a completely new way, making the whole learning experience more colorful and clear, as well as adding a whimsical element that compliments the subtly humorous tone of the prose.
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2005 (Reference -- 2nd Floor, Older Eds. in Main Stacks -- 4th Floor)
Engineering Speaking by Design by
From the Authors of Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value Engineering presentations are often a topic of frustration. Engineers complain that they don't enjoy public speaking, and that they don't know how to address audiences with varying levels of technical knowledge. Their colleagues complain about the state of information transfer in the profession. Non-engineers complain that engineers are boring and talk over everybody's heads. Although many public speaking books exist, most concentrate on surface issues, failing to distinguish the formal oral technical presentation from general public speaking. Engineering Speaking by Design: Delivering Technical Presentations with Real Impact targets the formal oral technical presentation skills needed to succeed in modern engineering. Providing clear and concise instruction supported by illustrative examples, the book explains how to avoid logical fallacies (both formal and informal), use physical reasoning to catch mistakes in claims, master the essentials of presentation style, conquer the elements of mathematical exposition, and forge a connection with the audience. Each chapter ends with a convenient checklist, bulleted summary, and set of exercises. A solutions manual is available with qualifying course adoption. Yet the book's most unique feature is its conceptual organization around the engineering design process. This is the process taught in most engineering survey courses: understand the problem, collect relevant information, generate alternative solutions, choose a preferred solution, refine the chosen solution, and so on. Since virtually all engineers learn and practice this process, it is so familiar that it can be applied seamlessly to formal oral technical presentations. Thus, Engineering Speaking by Design: Delivering Technical Presentations with Real Impact is inherently valuable in that itshows engineers how to leverage what they already know. The book's mantra is: if you can think like an engineer, you can speak like an engineer.
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! : A Step by Step Guide to Planning and Writing Dissertations and Theses for Undergraduate and Graduate Science Students by
A guide to good dissertation and thesis writing. It is written in an accessible style with cartoons and real-life anecdotes. It outlines the rules and conventions of scientific writing - particularly for dissertations and theses - and gives the reader practical advice about planning, writing, editing, presenting and submitting a successful dissertation or thesis. The book can be used either as a guide from day one of a degree course or as a quick reference when deadlines are looming.
The Insider's Guide to Technical Writing by
Every complex product needs to be explained to its users, and technical writers, also known as technical communicators, are the ones who do that job. A growing field, technical writing requires multiple skills, including an understanding of technology, writing ability, and great people skills. Whether you're thinking of becoming a technical writer, just starting out, or you've been working for a while and feel the need to take your skills to the next level, The Insider's Guide to Technical Writing can help you be a successful technical writer and build a satisfying career. Inside the Book Is This Job for Me? What does it take to be a technical writer? Building the Foundation: What skills and tools do you need to get started? The Best Laid Plans: How do you create a schedule that won't make you go crazy? How do you manage different development processes, including Agile methodologies? On the Job: What does it take to walk into a job and be productive right away? The Tech Writer's Toolkit: How do you create style guides, indexes, templates and layouts? How do you manage localization and translation and all the other non-writing parts of the job? I Love My Job: How do you handle the ups and downs of being a technical writer? Appendixes: References to websites, books, and other resources to keep you learning. The Insider's Guide to Technical Writing builds on Van Laan's previous book, The Complete Idiot's Guide to Technical Writing, but is significantly rewritten, extended, and brought up to date. About the Author Krista Van Laan has worked in, managed, and built from the ground up multi-level Technical Publications and User Experience departments in telecommunications, consumer software and hardware, enterprise software and services, and Internet companies, both in the United States and internationally. She is co-author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Technical Writing. Krista is currently the Director of User Experience at a Silicon Valley enterprise.
MIT Guide to Science and Engineering Communication by
First, Paradis and Zimmerman observe, it is essential to consider science and engineering as communication. The most effective engineers and scientists are skilled writers, and the first chapter shows how important good communication is to a successful career in science. The chapters that follow address such topics as: defining your audience and aims; organizing and drafting documents; revising for organization and style; developing graphics; conducting meetings; memos, letters, and e-mail; proposals; progress reports; reports and journal articles; instructional materials; electronic texts; oral presentations; job search strategies; document design for page and screen; strategies for searching the literature; and citation and reference styles.
Outline of Scientific Writing : For Researchers with English as a Foreign Language by
Aimed at researchers who need to write clear and understandable manuscripts in English, this book begins by discussing constructs of the English language such as sentence structure and word use. It then discusses the style and convention used in scientific publications. Some of the topics covered are planning a manuscript, authorship, references, tables and figures, submission to a journal, and production schedules. The book is written at a level such that the reader should not have to resort to a dictionary. It includes many examples and exercises to clarify the rules and guidelines presented.
A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists by
This book is a guide to technical writing, presented in a systematic framework that mirrors the logic associated with the scientific process itself. Other English books merely define concepts and provide rules; this one explains the reasoning behind the rules. Other writing books for scientists and engineers focus primarily on how to gather and organize materials; this one focuses primarily on how to compose a readable sentence. The approach should be satisfying not only to scientists and engineers, but also to anyone that once took a grammar course but can't remember the rules.
Scientific Papers and Presentations by
A text for a course or seminar, or a tutorial and reference for individual use. Offers practical advice and instruction on writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating, stylistic principles, table and figures, ethical and legal issues, dealing with lay audiences, and other aspects of presenting scientific information in written or oral form.
Scientific Writing : Easy When You Know How by
Step-by-step guidance walks readers through the process of getting published in the biomedical field, from assembling material to choosing a journal and submitting the manuscript. A conversational style is supplemented with boxed key concepts, examples, and quotes from famous authors. Coverage includes different types of documents, writing style, grammar, and word choice.
Speaking Technically : A Handbook for Scientists, Engineers, & Physicians on How to Improve Technical Presentations by
This is a concise guide for anyone who has ever found the prospect of speaking technically to be daunting.
The author draws upon his observations of people speaking technically in after-dinner speeches; conference presentations; coping with visitors; inaugural lectures; industrial presentations; industrial tourism; lectures to students; presentations to funding bodies; project reports; public inquiries; school talks; section and departmental meetings; telephone calls and consultations.
He offers the reader practical tools and principles for organising information and making technical communication lively and memorable.
Complete with highlighted points, checklists and review points for easy reference and practice, Speaking Technically is for anyone who has ideas and information to communicate, wants to do so effectively, finds the process stressful and has little time to prepare.
Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering by
Scientists and engineers seek to discover and disseminate knowledge so that it can be used to improve the human condition. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering serves as a valuable aid in this pursuit--it can be used as a textbook for undergraduate or graduate courses on technical communication and ethics, a reference book for senior design courses, or a handbook for young investigators and beginning faculty members. In addition to presenting methods for writing clearly and concisely and improving oral presentations, this compact book provides practical guidelines for preparing theses, dissertations, journal papers for publication, and proposals for research funding. Issues of authorship, peer review, plagiarism, recordkeeping, and copyright are addressed in detail, and case studies of research misconduct are presented to highlight the need for proactive attention to scientific integrity. Ample exercises cause the reader to stop and think. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering thus motivates the reader to develop an effective, individual style of communication and a personal commitment to integrity, each of which are essential to success in the workplace.
Technical Writing by
Table of Contents: The Nature of Technical Writing -- Technical Writing Basics -- The Writing Process -- Scientific Writing -- Business Communications -- Technical Reporting -- Using Graphical Elements -- Publishing Your Work -- Writing for E-Media -- Writing with Collaborators -- Glossary.
Technical Writing, Presentational Skills, and Online Communication by
This book is a collection of work to assist any professional who needs to deal with ethical issues, write up a technical project, give or develop a presentation, or write material for an online audience.
Technical Writing : What It Is and How to Do It by
Computers, the Internet, biotechnology, and hundreds of burgeoning science and technology fields create millions of jobs and require people who can communicate their intricacies clearly and effectively to a variety of audiences. Technical Writing introduces you—the new high school graduate, the student returning to college, or the professional seeking a career change—to the rapidly-growing field of technical communication. Included in this book are hundreds of technical writing exercises and examples, details on types of texts technical writers produce, samples of high quality technical and scientific writing from a variety of fields, and the resources needed to succeed. Lists of training programs, professional societies, and books for further study are provided.
Using the Engineering Literature, Second Edition by
With the encroachment of the Internet into nearly all aspects of work and life, it seems as though information is everywhere. However, there is information and then there is correct, appropriate, and timely information. While we might love being able to turn to Wikipedia® for encyclopedia-like information or search Google® for the thousands of links on a topic, engineers need the best information, information that is evaluated, up-to-date, and complete. Accurate, vetted information is necessary when building new skyscrapers or developing new prosthetics for returning military veterans. This book provides a guide to the wide range of resources available in all fields of engineering. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and features new sections on nanotechnology as well as green engineering.
