Primary Sources

Documents and Recordings.
Michael Duffy, site editor

Document collection from Brigham Young University

Includes the G. I. Jones, Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigerian Art and Culture
George Mason University
This site consists of approximately 350 photographs of artwork from the Igbo-speaking regions of southeastern Nigeria.

From ibiblio.org, a collaboration of the School of Information and Library Science and the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at The University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill.

Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From 4000bce to the present. From Yale Law Library.

Welcome to the Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons.

Includes the UN Charter, International Declaration of Human Rights, etc

British documents from Antiquity to the present

German documents from Antiquity to the present

Includes Bosnia, Norway, Croatia, etc

Includes her letters and portraits

These two short chronicles, from British Library MSS Harley 540 and 530, cover between them the reigns of Henry VIII (part), Edward VI, Mary and the early part of that of Elizabeth I.

Includes description and recipe for dyes used in the 16th century

Published in 1598, this was the first of two sets of madrigals penned by composer John Wilbye. This set, with lyrics included, are for three, four, five, and six voices.

More than 150 effigy images are in chronological order from 1510 to 1604.

Charles Booth and the survey into life and labour in London (1886-1903)

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

The Workhouse often evokes the grim Victorian world of Oliver Twist, but its story is a fascinating mix of social history, politics, economics and architecture. This site, www.workhouses.org.uk, is dedicated to the workhouse — its buildings, inmates, staff and administrators, even its poets...

The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world

London Life in the Eighteenth Century. What was it like to live in the world's first million person city? Crime, poverty, and illness; apprenticeship, work, politics and money; how people voted, lived and died; all this and more can be found in these documents.

Legislation of the United Kingdom, 1267-present

European History Primary Sources (EHPS), is an index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitised primary sources on the history of Europe. The websites listed on EHPS are not only meta-sources but also include invented archives and born digital sources.

250 recordings of interviews and songs made by oral history pioneer George Ewart Evans between 1956 and 1977, many in Suffolk, with a smaller number in Wales, Ireland and Scotland. The recordings document rural life and agricultural work in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, folk beliefs about animals, medicine and witchcraft, folk and popular songs.

A message from HM Queen Elizabeth II - In this the year of my Diamond Jubilee, I am delighted to be able to present, for the first time, the complete on-line collection of Queen Victoria's journals from the Royal Archives. These diaries cover the period from Queen Victoria's childhood days to her Accession to the Throne, marriage to Prince Albert, and later, her Golden and Diamond Jubilees. Thirteen volumes in Victoria's own hand survive, and the majority of the remaining volumes were transcribed after Queen Victoria's death by her youngest daughter, Princess Beatrice, on her mother's instructions. It seems fitting that the subject of the first major public release of material from the Royal Archives is Queen Victoria, who was the first Monarch to celebrate a Diamond Jubilee. It is hoped that this historic collection will make a valuable addition to the unique material already held by the Bodleian Libraries at Oxford University.