Primary Sources

America's Historical Imprints contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, and ephemera printed in early America.

American Periodicals contains the complete text of thousands of periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Titles range from America's first science journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Saturday Evening Post. It is a valuable collection of primary source material on American history.

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level.

This full-text database is a collection of primary source material on history, literature, philosophy, religion, agriculture, and other aspects of American life in the 17th and 18th centuries. With thousands of primary documents, it also has supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society that provide hundreds of additional pamphlets, broadsides, and books.

This full-text database provides access to primary source material for the early decades of 19th-century America, including coverage of politics, war, economics, and social and cultural thought. Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society provide an additional thousand books, pamphlets, and broadsides spanning the inauguration of Thomas Jefferson to the Adams-Onis Treaty.

This collection of primary sources holds more than 100,000 books and pamphlets published in England and its colonies from 1473-1700. It is especially useful for research in the areas of English history, literature, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.

Everyday Life & Women in America includes primary source material from 1800-1920 related to the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. The collection features texts of rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It covers a variety of themes including popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, employment, and advice literature.

HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.

The Nation Archive makes it possible for researchers to access 14 decades of America's best alternative journalism. The archive contains thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles dating back to the magazine's first issue from July 6, 1865.

Project MUSE provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences from 1993 to current. Beginning in 2025, some Project Muse journals will benefit from a Subscribe 2 Open (S2O) program. Journals that are part of the program and that reach a sustainability threshold, as determined by Project Muse, will have articles converted to open access at no additional cost. 

Learn more about S2O here.  Questions about this program can be sent to Davin Pate at djp130330@utdallas.edu. 

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University’s Race Relations Department (1943-1970), including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. Explore key themes such as the desegregation of schools, industries, and public transport; the migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers; the role of the church in the civil rights movement; race riots and other racial tensions; and more.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. This collection contains full-text works about the Americas, including Latin America and Canada, published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Also included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western migration, Native Americans, military history, and more.

The Austin American-Statesman offers full-text articles and abstracts from the newspaper from 1871 to 1980.

The Austin American-Statesman offers full-text articles and abstracts from the newspaper from 1989-current.

Provides full text coverage of all local and regional news appearing in the Dallas Morning News beginning in August 12,1984 until to June 28, 2016. For content since June 2016, including today's paper, see Newspaper Source Plus.

This provides a digital image archive of the Dallas Morning News including classifieds and display advertising, photos and graphics starting from October 1, 1885 to December 31,1984).

Searchable access to more than 200 Texas newspapers from 1842-2024. Coverage includes smaller city newspapers that are now out of print.

A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas, created and maintained by the University of North Texas (UNT) Libraries. Users may access historical newspapers, television footage, images, books, musical scores, letters, pamphlets, and other types of digitally preserved primary sources produced in or about Texas.

America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search thousands of U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

This provides a digital image archive of the Dallas Morning News including classifieds and display advertising, photos and graphics starting from October 1, 1885 to December 31,1984).

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1815, the Gazette provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements give a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times.

New York Times (1851-Current)

Provides subscriber access to US and International News and Sports from The New York Times, including today’s news in real-time. Archival access goes back to 1851 in fully searchable scans. UTD students, faculty, and staff can create a subscriber access account using their UTDallas email and by following these instructions. 
Download The New York Times app to access the same content on your phone or tablet.

Wall Street Journal offers full-text articles and abstracts from the newspaper covering world market news and data from 1984 to the present. The weekday print subscription to the paper (Southwestern Edition) is also available at the McDermott Library Circulation Desk.

The Washington informs readers of the latest news from the Washington D.C , Maryland, and Virginia Metro areas. The paper also covers important National and World events. Content is updated daily and is thoroughly indexed.

Letters and Diaries from 1500-1900 provides a collection of primary sources from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs and conference proceedings. The personal experiences of more than 500 women are represented and include all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous, and the not so famous.

Everyday Life & Women in America includes primary source material from 1800-1920 related to the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. The collection features texts of rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It covers a variety of themes including popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, employment, and advice literature.

This collection of primary sources is ideal for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Content spans from the nineteenth century to present and documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.

The Gerritsen Collection is an electronic collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and women's rights.

This full text database contains prose, poetry, memoirs, and essays by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America. Materials are presented in their original language (Spanish or Portuguese). With coverage spanning from the colonial era to the present, it is a vast resource of feminist literature and feminine perspective during the development of an entire continent.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the experiences from diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.