Primary Sources

Includes an encyclopedia, links to museums and genealogical research centers, and a broad collection of speech and primary documents given by African-Americans and others of African descent.

This project contains multiracial oral histories both from the start of the civil rights era and those captured in more recent interviews, with contributions from a number of North Texas institutions.

Collections of primary documents from activists of the Civil Rights Movement of 1951-1968, including speeches, letters, reports, memos, photos, and more.

Themed collections about southern history from UNC University Library, including books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The 15th Amendment to the Constitution granted African American men the right to vote by declaring that the "right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of race, color, or previous condition of servitude."

Contains more than 1,000 digitized manuscripts from abolitionist leader Frederick Douglass.

Contains labor, crime and marriage records of Freedmen with other links provided.

The King Papers Project is a cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center, and the King Estate striving to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts.

The National Archives holds historical U.S. government documents (federal, congressional, and presidential records) that are created or received by the President and his staff, by Congress, by employees of Federal government agencies, and by the Federal courts in the course of their official duties.

A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Includes over 1.5 million items in approximately 700 collections digitized and maintained by The University of North Texas.

Streaming audio arranged by speaker with transcripts. Hosted by American Public Media.

This audio-visual Oral History Project explores the history & culture of the 1960s. These interviews offer personal insights into the life, death and legacy of President John F. Kennedy.

TAMI is a non-profit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas’ film heritage. The archive includes home movies, amateur films, advertisements, local television, and industrial and corporate productions, as well as Hollywood and internationally produced moving images of Texas.

Search among a quarter million digitized items from over 1,000 archives, museums and libraries or browse by topics like African American Firsts or Videos from the Civil Rights Movement.

UNT's digitized collections from their Oral History program feature topics such as World War II history, Texas political history; Texas business history; history of the New Deal in Texas; civil rights history; and immigration history.

This is a digital archive of rare books, personal papers, photographs, and primary resources maintained by UTSA Libraries in preservation of San Antonio and South Texas history.

Audio recordings from the Library of Congress.

University of Massachusetts Amherst's extensive collection includes over 100,000 items of correspondence - approximately 3/4 of W.E.B. DuBois's writings.

An archival collection of interviews conducted for Robert Penn Warren's seminal book