Teacher Education

Invite expert educators into your classroom and watch your classroom management experience expand! Do you enjoy swapping ideas with other teachers? Do you find that the teachers′ lounge is the best place to learn? Do you wish you had time to attend classroom management seminars? The exchange of ideas often allows educators to fine-tune strategies for managing their classrooms by listening to others who have successfully overcome similar challenges. This inspiring collection of advice from award-winning teachers now brings the best of classroom management practice to your classroom. Best Classroom Management Practices for Reaching All Learners compiles strategies, suggestions, tactics, and even plans for improving classroom management approaches. By peeking into the best-run classrooms through the eyes of our best teachers, Stone brings us solutions to the questions and issues that concern teachers every day. Contributors focus on promoting a positive teaching environment and enriching learning experiences in today′s diverse classrooms by covering such topics as: Building classroom community, working with challenging students, and communicating with parents Rules, rewards, discipline, silence, and shared responsibilities Homework, posters, newsletters, and round robin reading groups Computer labs, classroom technology, grantwriting, and more Invite Randi Stone and her 29 expert educators into your classroom and find a virtual teachers′ lounge at your fingertips!

Educators need a balance between discipline theory and its practice in the classroom. This is especially important in today's educational climate, with its increased demands for teacher accountability. Tauber has designed this book for both those who are new to teaching and those who are already seasoned teachers but who have had little, if any, coursework in discipline. This book presents several sound frameworks that readers can use to evaluate six tried-and-true discipline models. Teachers need to select, learn, and implement a discipline model that best reflects how they feel students should be treated. Tauber explores a number of topics, some controversial, all quite relevant, concerning how teachers can prevent, as well as handle, problem behaviors. A chapter describing A through Z discipline suggestions can be immediately put into use.

Classroom Management for Gifted and Twice-Exceptional Students Using Functional Behavior Assessmentassists educators in understanding how to identify and target behaviors that influence the success of students and daily classroom instruction. Each module: Provides case studies with examples of the concepts being taught. Includes presentations, interactive graphic organizers, and small-group problem-solving activities. Offers self-assessments and resources for developing interventions. May be used within a university course, a series of workshops, or professional teacher learning communities. Uses functional behavior assessment (FBA), a successful research-based approach to behavioral interventions. Using this book, teachers can learn to manage student behavior and implement differentiation in the classroom.

This resource provides teachers with tips, suggestions, and strategies for classroom management and maintaining a positive learning environment. This book offers creative ideas and current research-based techniques for topics like observing the physical and social classroom environment, handling classroom disruptions, keeping students engaged, communicating with families, and more.

"The book is easy to read and contains strategies that beginning teachers will find helpful."--Sylvia Rockwell, Professor of Special Education, St. Leo UniversityAuthor, You Can′t Make Me! "A needed addition to the professional library of teachers who are challenged to meet the needs of students with ADHD."--Mary Reeve, Director of Special EducationGallup-McKinley County Public Schools, Gallup, NM Understand key concepts of ADHD to effectively manage your classroom! Working with students who have been diagnosed with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) presents unique challenges for educators. This valuable resource provides general and special education professionals with an understanding of ADHD and appropriate strategies to help children participate in the classroom experience and develop to their fullest potential. Aligned with the reauthorization of IDEA 2004, Classroom Management Techniques for Students With ADHD presents practical, nuts-and-bolts methods and a concise glossary for teaching and working with this unique group of students. The authors, recognized experts in the field, succinctly cover: The characteristics of ADHD The processes and legal requirements for identifying students with ADHD Understanding different treatment options and how students are diagnosed Instructional techniques and behavioral interventions Classroom accommodations and modifications Use this indispensable text to help you work effectively with parents, other professionals, and the outside community in fostering successful learning experiences for students with ADHD.

Discover the components of proactive classroom management. With this practical, step-by-step guide, teachers and school administrators will uncover five components that help improve student achievement and decrease classroom problems. Create clear expectations and rules, establish procedures and structure, reinforce expectations, actively engage students, and manage misbehavior. Learn how to develop individualized behavior plans to help students who continue to struggle.

The forward-thinking techniques you need to manage today's diverse classrooms A well-managed classroom is a successful one. But as cultural diversity increases in schools, old classroom management strategies are growing ineffective--or even counterproductive. In a comprehensive, practical guide, Laura E. Pinto details why today's classrooms are best managed by valuing culturally responsive engagement and what teachers must do for their classrooms to flourish in this new reality.  Drawing from extensive research, Pinto outlines action steps for teachers to critically reflect on their management style, then implement changes to supercharge the learning experience for students of all cultural backgrounds.  The book includes: Keys to developing the cultural fluency necessary to prepare students from all backgrounds for success Exercises for teachers to reflect deeply on how they manage their classrooms and to identify areas for improvement 45 easy strategies--including many that support the Common Core--for boosting engagement and cultural responsiveness in the classroom Readable and compelling, From Discipline to Culturally Responsive Engagement is essential for any educator ready to adapt to the changing face of classrooms. "The book creates a type of neural pathway between classroom management and the nature of relationship-building that is grounded by culturally responsive practice. Incorporating the relationship and significance of the common core only adds to the development of teacher capacity and efficacy development." --Deborah Childs-Bowen, Chief Learning Officer Alliance for Leadership in Education, Atlanta, GA

The Handbook of Classroom Management, Third Edition, is an authoritative treatment of the latest science and development in the study of classroom management in schools. Evidence-based classroom management practices and programs are essential to enhancing students' academic, behavioral, social-emotional, and motivational outcomes across grade levels. This comprehensive volume collects scholarship and cutting-edge research for graduate students and faculty of psychology, teacher education, curriculum and instruction, special education, and beyond. The book has been thoroughly revised and expanded with updated coverage of foundational topics such as effective instruction, preventative strategies, positive behavior intervention and supports, family-school relationships, legal issues, and other related topics, while also giving new attention to social justice, students on the autism spectrum, and adaptations across urban, rural, and virtual contexts.

Happy Class: The Practical Guide to Classroom Management is a teacher's manual for creating safe and happy classrooms for students and staff. One of the top reasons teachers leave the profession is due to problems with classroom management. This guide provides practical solutions to common classroom concerns. Happy Class will help you to arrange the physical layout of the classroom, positively address challenging behavior, problem solve, meaningfully work with other professionals, and create your own personal and professional happiness. This book is intended for new teachers, experienced teachers, administrators, collaborating professionals, and post-secondary educators. Whether you are struggling with a specific student or just need encouragement or validation this guide will help you to create a Happy Class.

How to stay calm, cool, and in control of your classroom Today′s teachers face more challenges than ever before in managing student behavior in the classroom. New teachers often find themselves underprepared for the realities of hard-to-engage students and increased class size. Rich Korb brings extensive teaching and administrative experience to his collection of strategies designed to keep you and your students focused on learning. This accessible, step-by-step guide for new and veteran teachers offers easy-to-implement methods that help you: Motivate and engage students Set up your classroom to prevent disruptive behavior Stay calm in the face of adverse situations Reduce the effect of misbehavior on other students′ learning Respond to inappropriate behavior effectively Avoid burning out This powerful staff development program is filled with strategies you can read today and apply tomorrow. They have been classroom tested and praised by teachers looking for guidance when they wanted to scream, yell, or cry. This book will reignite your love of teaching as you reap the rewards of a well-managed classroom.

Peer Relationships in Classroom Management offers pragmatic, empirically validated guidance to teachers in training on issues pertaining to students' interpersonal relationships. Concepts such as bullying, popularity, and online friendships are ubiquitous in today's schools, but what kinds of scientific and pedagogical knowledge can support teachers navigating students' complex lives? Using real-world examples and case studies, this book helps preservice educators to enhance their knowledge of classroom management by focusing on the interpersonal relationships in their schools. Each chapter includes an accessible approach to understanding the social motives in student's peer interactions inside school, and how to best intervene when these social interactions become detrimental to learning or cause negative interpersonal interactions.

A Teacher's Guide to Successful Classroom Management and Differentiated Instruction is a practical, straightforward conversation with teachers about two key aspects of their work. The first section shows teachers how to create the learning environment they want, leading them step by step through the process that establishes a productive, trusting relationship between teacher and students. The second section describes differentiated instruction: what it is and how to do it, where it fits into the teaching cycle and how it yields maximum gains for every student. Illustrating concepts with examples from both elementary and secondary classrooms, the guide also offers strategies, checklists, and activities to help teachers improve their practice.

This book describes a system of successful classroom behaviour management techniques developed by the author over more than twenty-five years. It outlines the difficulties confronting teachers trying to manage pupils' misbehaviour in schools and describes four types of pupil who can be helped to behave responsibly. In Understanding Pupil Behaviour Ramon Lewis explains how pupils' behaviour can be categorised and how techniques can be introduced to deal with each category, however challenging the behaviour might be. The book goes on to provide a framework for long-term commitment by teachers to produce effective interactions with students. Teachers, PGCE students and educational advisors looking for a handy guide to tried-and-tested behaviour management strategies, as well as those wanting a resource for delivering INSET training on the subject, will find all they need in this accessible book.

The powerfully effective method for facilitating positive behavior in the classroom!Brain research and good planning can be combined to prevent and/or minimize discipline problems and off-task behavior in the classroom. Chapters cover: Moving from old-fashioned obedience models to effective student self-management skills Working with on-task and off-task behaviors: motivation, stress, flow, timing, environment, resources, and more Dealing with difficult students and difficult issues, including power, revenge, anger, and poverty Planning that facilitates positive behavior Using cooperative learning skills Teaching social skills Using strategies for the self-system Focusing on metacognitive skills A model for classroom management Vocabulary pre-test, post-test, and summary Bibliography and index 

"The reader comes away with strategies for implementation and the confidence to create win-win classrooms and support students in self-management."--Jo Ann Freiberg, Educational Consultant "Includes more examples than any other book of its kind I′ve ever read."--Stephen Haslam, Educational Consultant "The focus throughout this book is on effective classroom strategies for setting up a win-win environment where everyone's needs are met and there are fewer power struggles to disrupt instruction"--Wendy Marshal, Director, Educational Technology Training Center. At the start of your career or at the end of your rope... When it comes to student behavior challenges in the classroom, conventional practices and punitive discipline codes often fail to motivate students to change their attitudes or behavior. Recognized for defining a nontraditional approach that really works, Jane Bluestein offers educators ways to prevent discipline problems, build student accountability, and end frustrating power struggles with kids of all ages. This authoritative, research-based guidebook discusses the impact of stress, brain functioning, learning styles, and social and emotional issues on student behavior. You'll find examples, guidelines, charts, and anecdotes, along with practical, powerful, and effective ideas to help you: Avoid falling into the "rules and punishment" trap Establish win-win authority relationships while defusing conflict and opposition Build a positive, caring, and emotionally safe learning climate Encourage student cooperation, motivation, self-management, and on-task behavior Engage even the most defiant, defeated, or resistant learner by using powerful alternative strategies The Win-Win Classroom will change the way you interact with students and help you build a positive social culture within your school and classroom.