It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to support academic and personal research on the topics of cultural diversity and the Native American experience, from history, politics, arts, and intellectual achievements to contemporary issues and contributions.
The Native American Studies LibGuide will be continually updated with links to new library materials and other relevant web resources. Use the tabs to navigate through a variety of research tools and selected content.
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
Explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. AIN's content represents a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, permitting users to discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
The Bibliography of Indigenous people in North America covers topics relating to native North Americans from the 16th century to the present, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, folklore, culture, history, and literacy. It contains hundreds of thousands of citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. This collection contains full-text works about the Americas, including Latin America and Canada, published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Also included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western migration, Native Americans, military history, and more.