About: Databases
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Getting Started in Databases
- Introduction to APA PsycINFOWhile targeted for APA PsycINFO, this presentation provides examples of search strategies, refining and managing results, and other navigation tips that can be applied to most databases.
Useful Databases
- APA PsycNetAPA PsycNet contains eBooks published by the American Psychological Association.
- Behavioral and Brain Sciences POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches following databases simultaneously: APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, ERIC, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and SocINDEX.
- CINAHL (nursing)This database provides indexing from journals related to nursing and allied health professions.
- CogNet Library (cognitive and brain sciences)This provides full-text access to a selection of books and journals relating to cognitive and neurological sciences published by MIT Press.
- ERIC (1966-) (education) - EBSCOERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) is an index to both non-journal material (examples include lesson plans and reports) from Resources in Education (RIE) and an index to journal articles in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). (EBSCO version)
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsThis database abstracts and indexes international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in the field of language sciences including the subjects of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionThe Psychology and Behavioral Sciences collection provides indexing to hundreds of publications in psychology including topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965 and is updated daily.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMillions of publications from full-text journal articles to authoritative books. Journals are guided by eminent editorial boards and articles are rigorously peer-reviewed. Books on ScienceDirect cover multiple subject collections across disciplines such as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
**Note: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available. - SCOPUSSCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online provides researchers of all levels with step-by-step instruction from the development of a strong research topic to the planning and execution of the research and analysis, as well as the reference materials, books, articles, case studies and datasets one might need along the way.
Even more source material can be found in SAGE Research Methods Cases and SAGE Research Methods Datasets. Case studies will give you real examples of research in action and the evidence produced, while clean datasets will help you find real data for research analysis and skill-building.