It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is continually updated to inform students, faculty, and our community of the many types of resources and search methods available to facilitate the study of Child Learning and Human Development, be it scholarly research or personal interest.
Child Learning and Human Development relates to the cognitive, language, and socio-emotional development of children and adolescents, with applications in education, psychology, social work, family medicine, public health, family law, and public policy. Practitioners and researchers evaluate within contexts of family, school, peer groups, and culture to promote emotional wellness and intellectual development.
Use the tabs to learn more about different resource types and how to find them.
APA PsycInfo is the premier index for researching psychological literature, including related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and others. APA PsycInfo indexes thousands of psychology journals, as well as appropriate book chapters, books and dissertations. The index starts in 1806 (1887 for journals) and is updated weekly.
The APA PsycArticles database covers journal articles published by the American Psychological Association and other allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from more than 50 journals. Coverage extends more than 120 years, beginning in 1894.
PubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) is an index to both non-journal material (examples include lesson plans and reports) from Resources in Education (RIE) and an index to journal articles in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). (EBSCO version)