LibGuides: Accessibility and Disability: Introduction

About This Guide

The purpose of this LibGuide is to display resources that discuss the history of disability and accessibility, the current state of disability and accessibility in our culture, and the experience of people with disabilities or those who may need additional accommodations in their school work or everyday lives.

"Disability is not something an individual overcomes... People with disabilities are successful when we develop alternative techniques and our communities choose inclusion." - Haben Girma from Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law

Top 5 Resources

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences collection provides indexing to hundreds of publications in psychology including topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965 and is updated daily.
Public Policy POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches all of these databases simultaneously: EconLit, Social Sciences Full Text, and SocINDEX.
PTSDpubs
PTSDpubs, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. It includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health results of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Coverage begins in the 1870s and continues through the present.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text includes articles from hundreds of publications and covers a range of interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, political sciences, psychology, and more. Indexing is also included for almost 800 periodical. Coverage begins in 1972; for articles published between 1907 and 1972, use the Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Statistical Insight
Statistical Insight is a full-text database containing statistical charts and tables derived from federal and state government agencies, international bodies, and private organizations. It includes demographic data as well as data about crime, economics, health, education, and labor.

Relevant Guides

Child Learning and Human Development
by Chris Edwards Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 55 views this year
Healthcare Studies
by Sarah Dornback Last Updated Feb 3, 2024 74 views this year
Library Services for Student Veterans
by Chris Edwards Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 6 views this year
Mental Health and Wellbeing
by Chris Edwards Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 132 views this year