LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Studies: History and Politics

Tips for Searching in This Topic

Search Tip

A search term can be used in combination with another search term to improve the relevance of your search results in databases, the Library's Discover and Catalog searches, and even in Google and other search engines.

To find materials about LGBTQ+ history and politics, here are some research starters.

Examples:

gay AND history
homosexuality AND history
"stonewall riots"
transgender AND politics
transgender AND history

Databases in LGBTQ+ History and Politics

History POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This POWERSEARCH searches the following databases simultaneously: America: History & Life, Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective,
Historical Abstracts, Humanities Full Text, Military & Government Collection, and Social Sciences Full Text.
Public Policy POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches all of these databases simultaneously: EconLit, Social Sciences Full Text, and SocINDEX.
Social Issues POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
LGBT Magazine Archive
The LGBT Magazine Archive features periodicals related to LGBT+ interests and chronicles more than 60 years of the community’s history, culture, and arts. Noted publications include Gay Times and The Advocate, which is the oldest surviving continuously published title of its type in the United States. More specialist magazines and newsletters are also included and are digitized from cover to cover in full color with coverage dating back to 1954. There is also subject material related to sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.