Tips for Searching in This Topic
Search Tip
A search term can be used in combination with another search term to improve the relevance of your search results in databases, the Library's Discover and Catalog searches, and even in Google and other search engines.
To find materials about the artistic and cultural aspects of the LGBTQ community, here are some research starters.
Examples:
- queer AND art
- queer AND culture
- queer AND "pop culture"
- gay AND culture
Databases in LGBTQ+ Art and Culture
- Arts/Architecture/Photography POWERSEARCH
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Art & Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
- ARTStorNotice: ArtStor will merge with JSTOR on 8/1/2024, Check JSTOR for all ArtStor content.
ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It features high resolution zooming, printing and customizable, shareable image sets. Usage rights are cleared for educational use, and teaching resources like surveys, presentations and curriculum guides are available as well. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
- Naxos Music Library OnlineNaxos offers thousands of tracks of jazz, film music, world music, and classic and contemporary rock, with customizable playlists supported. Recordings are searchable by genre, label, instrument, composer, or performer.
- Naxos Spoken Word Library OnlineNaxos Spoken Word Library consists of hundreds of audiobooks, with subjects ranging from literary classics, biographies, and histories to philosophy, religion, and children's stories.
- Performing Arts POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Art & Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities Full Text and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Suggested Reading in LGBTQ+ Art and Culture
Cruising Utopia: The Then and There of Queer FuturityPublication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular CulturePublication Date: 2008
Gaydar Culture: Gay Men, Technology and Embodiment in the Digital AgePublication Date: 2016
Global Gay: How Gay Culture Is Changing the WorldPublication Date: 2018
LGBTQ Digital Cultures: A Global Perspective by Publication Date: 2022
Outlooks: Lesbian and Gay Sexualities and Visual CulturesPublication Date: 1996
Queer Popular Culture: Literature, Media, Film, and TelevisionPublication Date: 2007
A Queer Romance: Lesbians, Gay Men, and Popular CulturePublication Date: 2005
Can't find it? Contact ILL!
Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.