About This Guide
The following is a guide to resources on the LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer) community and issues. It covers materials on gender studies, gender identity, philosophy, sociology, history, art, culture and more.
This guide will be updated with new library materials and other relevant resources as they become available. Use the tabs to navigate through a variety of research tools and content.
Photo: Student Services Building (SSB), location of the Galerstein Gender Center (SSB 4.300)
Top Resources
- Gender Studies POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Gender Studies Powersearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Gender Studies Database, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
- Social Issues POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new windowThe Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveThe LGBT Magazine Archive features periodicals related to LGBT+ interests and chronicles more than 60 years of the community’s history, culture, and arts. Noted publications include Gay Times and The Advocate, which is the oldest surviving continuously published title of its type in the United States. More specialist magazines and newsletters are also included and are digitized from cover to cover in full color with coverage dating back to 1954. There is also subject material related to sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.
- Gender: Identity and Social ChangeThis collection of primary sources is ideal for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Content spans from the nineteenth century to present and documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.