Try your skills at completing the digital puzzles below! The puzzles are created using images from our collections and Jigsaw Explorer, an online tool to help create your own puzzles. For more information on Jigsaw Explorer. https://www.jigsawexplorer.com/
To start on the puzzle, simply drag pieces to complete puzzle. If you drag one piece to the piece it fits with, a two-piece symbol will appear, and the pieces will connect together. If you don't see the puzzle symbols, try finding another piece.
If you want to see how long it will take you to complete the puzzle, there's a stopwatch you can choose. Can you beat your best time?
Night-Blowing Cereus Puzzle
This puzzle is created using the Night-Blowing Cereus plate, found in the book titled, Temple of Flora, or Garden of the botanist, poet, painter, and philosopher, published in 1812 by John Robert Thornton (1768-1837). This book, along with many other rare botanical and horticultural books from as early as the 15th century, are part of the Louise B. Belsterling Botanical Collection can be found visiting the Louise B. Belsterling Botanical Collection or the links below.
Find the record here: Temple of Flora, or, Garden of the botanist, poet, painter, and philosopher Catalog Record
Find the digital copy here: Temple of Flora, or, Garden of the botanist, poet, painter, and philosopher Digital Collection
This puzzle is created using an image of the map titled, Aethiopia Inferior vel Exterior : Partes magis septentrionales, quae hic desiderantur, vide in tabula Aethiopiae superioris. This map was created in 1635 and is one of 18 African maps located in the Frank T. Kryza African Map Collection located in our Rare Books section in the Special Collections and University Archives Division.
Find the record here: Aethiopia Inferior vel Exterior Map Catalog Record
Find the digital copy here: Aethiopia Inferior ve Exterior Digital Collection
This puzzle is created using an image from the book, The Pleasures of Reason, or The Hundred Thoughts of a Sensible Young Lady. This book was written by Robert Gillet in 1796. This book is part of the History of the Book Collection, located in the Rare Book section of Special Collections and University Archives Division.
Find the record here: The Pleasures of Reason, or, The Hundred Thoughts of a Sensible Young Lady Catalog Record
Find the digital copy here: The Pleasures of Reason, or, The hundred Thoughts of a Sensible Young Lady Digital Collection