Special Collections and Archives Division

The Louise B. Belsterling Botanical Library features rare botanical and horticultural books from the personal library of Louise B. Belsterling. This specialized collection offers researchers access to unique volumes documenting botanical and horticultural history.

Access Information:

• Materials must be used in the Special Collections Reading Room
• Volumes are housed separately from our main rare book collections
• Advanced appointments are strongly recommended
• Additional retrieval time may be required
• Non-circulating collection

About Louise Babcock Belsterling (1876-1970)
Louise Babcock was born on November 23, 1876, in New York to Mr. and Mrs. Charles Mathew Babcock. Her life's work significantly influenced Dallas gardening and horticultural education:

• Moved to Dallas in 1902 to teach French at St. Mary's after living in France
• Married Edward Belsterling after meeting at a friend's home
• Dedicated her time to gardening and botanical studies
• Published Planting Manual for Dallas Gardens (1941)
• Active member of The Dallas Garden Club of The Dallas Woman's Club
• Recognized authority on Dallas local gardening
• Built an extensive private library of rare horticultural and botanical books

Mrs. Belsterling passed away on April 6, 1970, in Dallas, Texas, at the age of 93.

The Louise B. Belsterling Foundation
Established on June 9, 1971, the Louise B. Belsterling Foundation of the Dallas Garden Club continues Mrs. Belsterling's legacy through:

• Annual funding for collection preservation
• Acquisition of new volumes
• Graduate-level scholarships in horticultural research

The Foundation was created through Mrs. Belsterling's bequest, with the Texas Research Foundation transferring its inheritance to support these ongoing initiatives.

Contact our department: Special Collections and Archives Division

Email: libspco@utdallas.edu

Phone: 972-883-2570