A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tile on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
This database provides access to a growing list of prison newspapers covering more than 200 years. Most of the titles were written by inmates. JSTOR worked with many research institutions to assemble and fund this collection.
This full-text database is a collection of primary source material on history, literature, philosophy, religion, agriculture, and other aspects of American life in the 17th and 18th centuries. With thousands of primary documents, it also has supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society that provide hundreds of additional pamphlets, broadsides, and books.
This full-text database provides access to primary source material for the early decades of 19th-century America, including coverage of politics, war, economics, and social and cultural thought. Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society provide an additional thousand books, pamphlets, and broadsides spanning the inauguration of Thomas Jefferson to the Adams-Onis Treaty.
This collection of primary sources holds more than 100,000 books and pamphlets published in England and its colonies from 1473-1700. It is especially useful for research in the areas of English history, literature, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
This collection provides full-text access to digital images of hundreds of thousands of books published during the 18th Century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Concentrating on primary sources in philosophy, religion, and literature, Past Masters gathers the books, diaries, letters, and correspondence of major intellects from across the centuries. Titles are typically comprised of the complete collected works of each individual author. Users may conduct searches or browse materials by title, subject (e.g., Women Writers, Religious Studies, or Continental Philosophy), or language (e.g., English, Latin, Greek, or Russian).
This database provides access to a growing list of prison newspapers covering more than 200 years. Most of the titles were written by inmates. JSTOR worked with many research institutions to assemble and fund this collection.
This full-text database is a collection of primary source material on history, literature, philosophy, religion, agriculture, and other aspects of American life in the 17th and 18th centuries. With thousands of primary documents, it also has supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society that provide hundreds of additional pamphlets, broadsides, and books.
This full-text database provides access to primary source material for the early decades of 19th-century America, including coverage of politics, war, economics, and social and cultural thought. Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society provide an additional thousand books, pamphlets, and broadsides spanning the inauguration of Thomas Jefferson to the Adams-Onis Treaty.
This collection of primary sources holds more than 100,000 books and pamphlets published in England and its colonies from 1473-1700. It is especially useful for research in the areas of English history, literature, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
This collection provides full-text access to digital images of hundreds of thousands of books published during the 18th Century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Concentrating on primary sources in philosophy, religion, and literature, Past Masters gathers the books, diaries, letters, and correspondence of major intellects from across the centuries. Titles are typically comprised of the complete collected works of each individual author. Users may conduct searches or browse materials by title, subject (e.g., Women Writers, Religious Studies, or Continental Philosophy), or language (e.g., English, Latin, Greek, or Russian).