Labeled either as the "next industrial revolution" or as just "hype," nanoscience and nanotechnologies are controversial, touted by some as the likely engines of spectacular transformation of human societies and even human bodies, and by others as conceptually flawed. These challenges make an encyclopedia of nanoscience and society an absolute necessity.   Providing a guide to what these understandings and challenges are about, the Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society offers accessible descriptions of some of the key technical achievements of nanoscience along with its history and prospects. Rather than a technical primer, this encyclopedia instead focuses on the efforts of governments around the world to fund nanoscience research and to tap its potential for economic development as well as to assess how best to regulate a new technology for the environmental, occupational, and consumer health and safety issues related to the field. Contributions examine and analyze the cultural significance of nanoscience and nanotechnologies and describe some of the organizations, and their products, that promise to make nanotechnologies a critical part of the global economy. Written by noted scholars and practitioners from around the globe, these two volumes offer nearly 500 entries describing the societal aspects of nanoscience and nanotechnology.   Key Themes - Art, Design, and Materials - Bionanotechnology Centers - Context - Economics and Business - Engagement and the Public - Environment and Risk - Ethics and Values - Geographies and Distribution - History and Philosophy - Integration and Interdisciplinarity - Nanotechnology Companies - Nanotechnology Organizations

In his 1959 address, "There is Plenty of Room at the Bottom," Richard P. Feynman speculated about manipulating materials atom by atom and challenged the technical community "to find ways of manipulating and controlling things on a small scale." This visionary challenge has now become a reality, with recent advances enabling atomistic-level tailoring and control of materials. Exemplifying Feynman's vision, Handbook of Nanoscience, Engineering, and Technology, Third Edition continues to explore innovative nanoscience, engineering, and technology areas. Along with updating all chapters, this third edition extends the coverage of emerging nano areas even further. Two entirely new sections on energy and biology cover nanomaterials for energy storage devices, photovoltaics, DNA devices and assembly, digital microfluidic lab-on-a-chip, and much more. This edition also includes new chapters on nanomagnet logic, quantum transport at the nanoscale, terahertz emission from Bloch oscillator systems, molecular logic, electronic optics in graphene, and electromagnetic metamaterials. With contributions from top scientists and researchers from around the globe, this color handbook presents a unified, up-to-date account of the most promising technologies and developments in the nano field. It sets the stage for the next revolution of nanoscale manufacturing--where scalable technologies are used to manufacture large numbers of devices with complex functionalities.

A thorough overview of nanobiotechnology and its place in advances in applied science and engineering, The Nanobiotechnology Handbook combines contributions from physics, bioorganic and bioinorganic chemistry, molecular and cellular biology, materials science, and medicine as well as from mechanical, electrical, chemical, and biomedical engineering.

Long awaited new edition of this highly successful textbook, provides once more a unique introduction to the concepts, techniques and applications of nanoscale systems by covering its entire spectrum up to recent findings on graphene.

Nanotechnology: An Introduction, Second Edition, is ideal for the newcomer to nanotechnology, someone who also brings a strong background in one of the traditional disciplines, such as physics, mechanical or electrical engineering, or chemistry or biology, or someone who has experience working in microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) technology. This book brings together the principles, theory, and practice of nanotechnology, giving a broad, yet authoritative, introduction to the possibilities and limitations of this exciting and rapidly developing field. The book's author, Prof Ramsden, also discusses design, manufacture, and applications and their impact on a wide range of nanotechnology areas.

This comprehensive handbook has become the definitive reference work in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology, and this 4th edition incorporates a number of recent new developments. It integrates nanofabrication, nanomaterials, nanodevices, nanomechanics, nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering knowledge in just one volume. Furthermore, it discusses various nanostructures; micro/nanofabrication; micro/nanodevices and biomicro/nanodevices, as well as scanning probe microscopy; nanotribology and nanomechanics; molecularly thick films; industrial applications and nanodevice reliability; societal, environmental, health and safety issues; and nanotechnology education. In this new edition, written by an international team of over 140 distinguished experts and put together by an experienced editor with a comprehensive understanding of the field, almost all the chapters are either new or substantially revised and expanded, with new topics of interest added. It is an essential resource for anyone working in the rapidly evolving field of key technology, including mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists, and chemists.