Nanotechnology is the branch of technology that deals with dimensions and tolerances of 1 to 100 nanometres, or, generally, with the manipulation of individual atoms and molecules.
First uses of the word nanotechnology:
1974 N. TANIGUCHI in Proc. Internat. Conf. Production Engin. II. 18/1 The usual precision finishing technology has aimed to get the preciseness and fineness of 1 
m, i.e. 10-6m in length, hence it says ‘micro-technology’, not so accurate in meaning. Consequently, in contrast, the finishing technology aimed to get the preciseness and fineness of 1nm would be called ‘Nano-technology’. 1986 K. E. DREXLER Engines of Creation i. 11 As nanotechnology moves beyond reliance on proteins, it will grow more ordinary from an engineer's point of view.
1998 Independent 2 Apr. 2/7 The most obvious use for such a power plant would be in ‘nanotechnology’ systems, where mechanical systems may be so tiny that hundreds of them can fit onto the head of a pin. 2000 Business Rev. Weekly 11 Aug. 60 The areas that some venture capitalists are entering include biotechnology, and ‘over the horizon’ developments such as micro-machining and nanotechnology.
A nanometre/nanometer is one thousand-millionth of a metre. Abbreviated nm.
(From the Oxford English Dictionary Online)
The following guide will connect users to relevant library resources on nanoscience and nanotechnology: books/ebooks, online databases, and more.
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management.
For best results, it is suggested by Elsevier to use Chrome, Safari or Edge as your browser.
When using Chrome, it is recommended to download the Scopus Document Download Manager extension.
Millions of publications from full-text journal articles to authoritative books. Journals are guided by eminent editorial boards and articles are rigorously peer-reviewed. Books on ScienceDirect cover multiple subject collections across disciplines such as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
**Note: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available.
NOTE: The library is currently experiencing temporary outages with some of our electronic resources, including Springer, American Physical Society, and Emerald. Our team is working to restore access as quickly as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and truly appreciate your patience as we resolve this.
SpringerLink, by Springer-Verlag publishers, is one of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. SpringerLink contains full-text of over 500 fully peer reviewed journals and a growing roster of series publications and online books. Coverage varies from journal to journal, but most titles go back as far as the mid 1990s.
**Note: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available.