Strong Databases for Clinical Evidence
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- Medicine and Health POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches all of the following databases simultaneously: Alt HealthWatch, APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, CINAHL, General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Health Source Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.
- CINAHL (nursing)This database provides indexing from journals related to nursing and allied health professions.
- Gale OneFile: Health and MedicineGale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Getting Started in Databases
- Introduction to APA PsycINFOWhile targeted for APA PsycINFO, this presentation provides examples of search strategies, refining and managing results, and other navigation tips that can be applied to most databases.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online provides researchers of all levels with step-by-step instruction from the development of a strong research topic to the planning and execution of the research and analysis, as well as the reference materials, books, articles, case studies and datasets one might need along the way.
Even more source material can be found in SAGE Research Methods Cases and SAGE Research Methods Datasets. Case studies will give you real examples of research in action and the evidence produced, while clean datasets will help you find real data for research analysis and skill-building.
Cochrane Library - A Database of Synthesized Clinical Research
Cochrane Library is a suite of three databases that offer health care professionals and researchers a variety of systematic reviews and other synthesized research to inform evidence-based decisions and learning.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is both a leading database and monthly journal containing systematic reviews and their protocols, editorials, and supplements.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) contains bibliographic records and abstracts of trials from major databases like PubMed, Embase, CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov, KoreaMed, and WHO’s ICTRP, as well trials manually added by Cochrane Review Groups.
- Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA) enables searching of health care questions with answers supported by evidence summaries and conclusions from CDSR. All answers are based on a single Cochrane Review, and provide detail about the population, intervention(s), comparison(s), and outcomes.