Subject Guide
About This Guide
Cognitive Science, in very general terms, is the study of the brain and intelligence, with applications in an array of disciplines ranging from psychology, linguistics, neurology, anthropology, philosophy... even computer science and artificial intelligence. It is concerned with intelligent systems, biological or artificial. A cognitive scientist studies perception, problem solving, decision-making, language, memory, and emotion. A neuroscientist studies the brain function that shapes cognition and all other behavior. Their specialties can range from molecular and cellular neuroplasticity in organic subjects to artificial neural networks and robotics.
This guide is continually updated to inform students, faculty, and our community of the many types of resources and search methods available to facilitate the study of Cognition and Neuroscience, be it scholarly research or personal interest.
Top 5 Resources
- Behavioral and Brain Sciences POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches following databases simultaneously: APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, ERIC, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and SocINDEX.
- CogNet Library (cognitive and brain sciences)This provides full-text access to a selection of books and journals relating to cognitive and neurological sciences published by MIT Press.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMillions of publications from full-text journal articles to authoritative books. Journals are guided by eminent editorial boards and articles are rigorously peer-reviewed. Books on ScienceDirect cover multiple subject collections across disciplines such as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
**Note: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available. - SCOPUSSCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.