The platforms on this page contain streaming video. Some are subject-specific while others include a wide variety film genres and topics.
Read the descriptions to learn what is included or click and start exploring!
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Please Note: This database includes some SAMPLE videos that UTD does not have access to.
Ambrose Video primarily contains documentaries and theatre productions from the British Broadcasting Corporation and Ambrose Video. Collection highlights include multiple documentary series The Long Search, The Making of Mankind, A History of the U.S Constitution, Ancient History. The collection also contains several BBC Shakespeare theatre productions.
Anatomy.tv covers more than 50 titles in medical and health science subjects and offers interactive 3D anatomy of each region of the body. The interactive 3D components were built from imaging data, allowing users to rotate the models, and they link to supporting content including images, video, and other animations.
The Docuseek Collection contains over 2000 different documentaries from highly rated documentary production companies such as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, The National Film Board of Canada, and Women Make Movies. This collection focuses on a wide variety of historical, social, cultural, environmental, religious, and interdisciplinary topics.
Drama Online is a great resource for researching plays and theatrical works. The database provides a growing collection of historical and contemporary plays as well as the audio editions of various works. It includes reference tools for students and faculty members.
The Film Platform Collection contains over 600 different documentaries curated for academic audiences. This collection includes many award-winning documentaries on a wide variety of subject matters.
For full access, click "Sign In" in the upper right corner and select "Continue with Single Sign-On (SSO)" on the next page. Then search for "University of Texas - Dallas" and go to login.
JoVE publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold-standard protocols in the physical and life sciences. Video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
Coming this Summer: Microeconomics
This streaming video service includes documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and instructional films. It supports keyword searching as well as browsing by categories like Arts, Business, Education, Foreign Films, Global Studies & Languages, Health, Media & Communications, Movies and TV, Science, and Social Studies.
Note on Kanopy Access
If a required film for a course is unavailable in Kanopy, please reach out to your course instructor to request access. While the McDermott library will make reasonable efforts to acquire materials required for coursework, the library may not honor all requests due to budgetary reasons. Many of the films may also be available on course reserves as a physical DVD.
The library has a large selection of physical DVDs. If you have questions on obtaining a film, please feel free to contact one of the reference librarians who can assist. Films that we do not have can also often be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
In addition, Students, Faculty, and Staff also have access to streaming films on a wide variety of topics from PBS, Film Platform, and Docuseek. We encourage viewing films on these platforms.
Faculty members may request Kanopy titles for classroom use by email libresv@utdallas.edu or Davin.Pate@utdallas.edu. Physical copies of DVD can be put on Media Course Reserve. The library may request faculty to place the physical copy of a film on course reserves if the class is taught in an in-person setting.
Due to budget issues and priorities, the McDermott Library will discontinue the LinkedIn Learning subscription on January 12, 2025. For questions, please contact davin.pate@utdallas.edu.
LinkedIn Learning is now available to all currently enrolled students as well as current UT Dallas faculty and staff. This service is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. With over 12,000 courses and an average of 60 courses added per month there is something for everyone.
This is a performing arts streaming video library with hundreds of videos of operas, ballets, documentaries, classical music performances, and musical tours of historic places.
O'Reilly Online Learning (formerly known as Safari Books Online) grants access to thousands of ebooks on business, management, computer science, programming languages, and technology in addition to interactive online tutorials, training videos, and video “case studies.” O'Reilly provides timely access to materials published by Java, Addison-Wesley, O'Reilly, Que, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall, Sams, Macromedia, Microsoft, CISCO, and Adobe.
Users must have a VALID UT Dallas email address in order to access O'Reilly. Additionally, users who create an account (free) may enjoy extra benefits such as direct access to www.oreilly.com without logging in through the library site, the ability to bookmark ebook and video content, and access to O'Reilly on tablets and mobile devices through the O'Reilly app (iOS and Android compatible). O'Reilly Training is not included in this subscription.
PBS Video Collection contains over 1200 different documentaries and episodes from series initially broadcasted on the Public Broadcasting Service. Some highlights include Shakespeare Uncovered, American Experience: Eyes on the Prize, NOVA, Nature, Frontline, and many documentaries produced and directed by Ken Burns.