Religion

This title moves beyond the polemics to present an overview of atheism that is rigorous yet accessible. Interest in atheism has surged since the 'New Atheism' trinity of Sam Harris, Richard Dawkins, and Christopher Hitchens launched their attack on religious belief. Their militant, in-your-face style has delighted readers who are already nonbelievers and infuriated theists, and in the process made them best-selling authors. But the cost of their approach is that the current cultural and intellectual dialogue about atheism frequently generates more heat than light: acrimony replaces reasoned investigation, polemic overpowers philosophical analysis, and too often the outcome is confusion rather than truth. "Atheism: A Guide for the Perplexed" moves beyond the polemics to present an overview of atheism that is rigorous but still accessible to the educated layperson as well as the undergraduate student in philosophy and theology courses. After a preliminary investigation of what atheists mean when they use the words 'atheism' and 'God' - a much more complex investigation than one might suspect - the book explores the differences and similarities between 'old' and 'new' atheism; places atheism of either variety in context by examining the naturalistic worldview that grounds it; provides a short historical sketch of atheism; examines a number of arguments against God-belief; investigates whether an atheist worldview is consistent with ethics and a sense of purposefulness; asks if an atheist 'spirituality' is possible; inquires into whether the current militancy against religious belief is pertinent or a red herring; and, concludes with a few suggestions for continued dialogue between believers and nonbelievers. The goal throughout is to present a balanced, non-partisan introduction to the worldview, principles, and arguments of atheism that highlights the position's strengths as well as its weaknesses.

Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.

In approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, Encyclopedia of Buddhism provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today.

The second edition of this well-received two-volume study of Islam updates and adds to its predecessor 40 percent new content. It updates and revises most of the original 500+ entries and adds new topics to reflect changes in the Muslim world since 2004, from the emergence/re-emergence of Islamic regimes to challenges to the rule of religious leaders (Iran), to continuing instability across North Africa and the Middle East. The set will build on the first edition's approach to this still-growing religion: documenting and analyzing its history, as well as its doctrinal, legal, social, and spiritual tenets, while assessing its influence on all areas of human activity in the regions where it is most established--the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. KEY FEATURES: Most up-to-date Analyses. The ever-growing numbers of students matriculating in disciplines connected to the teaching and understanding of Islam need accurate, current information on this religion and its impact on the world. Balanced Coverage. Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in today's world, allowing for an assessment of Islam's influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas Fully Updated Content. More than 50% new and revised content, including more than 160 new entries and 60 sidebars. Beautifully Illustrated in Full Color. This edition doubles the number of photos and maps from the first edition, all in color. WHAT'S NEW: 286 new/updated entries and sidebars Now in full color More than 360 images, more than double the number of images from the first edition 60 sidebars embedded in larger entries to help readers understand the importance of a person or group in context with a key issue or country. Revamped table of contents includes entries at the forefront of current events, including entries on oil, water rights, social media, and ISIS, as well as greatly expanded coverage of Islam in specific countries.

Karesh (PhD), a teacher of Jewish history at a religious day school in Rockville, Maryland, and Hurvitz, a rabbi in Greenwich, Connecticut, introduce some 800 entries and a chronology illuminating the history of the Jewish people and faith from biblical to modern times. Following an introduction to this 3,000- year-old history, illustrated A-Z entries offer accessible coverage of notable religious and secular figures--including female contributors; countries in which Judaism developed (with some statistics); sacred texts; seminal events; community organizations; key religious concepts; and further reading. Entries cover Aaron, the Israelites' first high priest, to Leopold Zunz, founder of modern Jewish studies. Karl Marx and the Marx brothers are here too.

Alphabetically arranged articles discuss the major terms, concepts, people, events, and organizations relating to the movement within the larger Christian community that began in Europe in the 16th century, established itself in opposition to the Roman Catholic Church, subsequently spread around the world, and today exists in literally thousands of individual denominations. They also examine theological issues that emerged at the movement's origin; the main individuals, concerns, and movements that shaped it in subsequent centuries; and representative samples of the movement as it now exists around the world.

Among Library Journal's picks of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

-- From Abhang through Zodiac, these two volumes contain over 2,500 thoroughly cross-referenced entries that clearly define terms and concepts related to the beliefs, practices, and history of Hinduism.
-- Complete with black-and-white photos illustrating architectural, biographical, geographical, and mythological entries.
-- Charts and maps provide added information.
-- 16-category indexes direct the reader to related terms.

This inclusive, two-volume encyclopedia contains entries on the history, practices, and beliefs of Hinduism, as well as the art and architecture, medicine, sects and social groups, and geographical centers of the religion. It is an essential and highly valuable resource for every reference collection.

Named as one of the top "50 resources for the Millennium" by "LibraryJournal," The New Catholic Encyclopedia has long been regarded as one of the best core references in use today by libraries and religious organizations around the world. The first revision in 30 years, the 15-volume Encyclopedia includes more than 12,000 entries from a wide breadth of concerns.

A supplement to the New Catholic Encyclopedia that focuses on the theme of science and the church.

Fully updated and revised with over 100 new saints, the fifth edition of this well-respected and enjoyed dictionary features concise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,400 saints, from the famous to the obscure. This edition includes a new appendix on pilgrimage sights in Europe.

Looks at religious diversity in the United States from mainstream faiths to Wicca and Zen, discussing faith, religious practices, traditions, and history of religions. The only multicultural survey of established and new American religions, this exhaustive three volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interactions between religion and ethnicity, gender, regionalism, and popular culture.

It comprises 26 anchor essays and some 120 supplementary essays, each with cross references and a bibliography, examining religions both within and outside of the mainstream, as well as themes such as sacred spaces, sexuality, films, and religious communities on the Internet. The final volume offers primary source documents that exemplify religious diversity. Over 150 essays written by more than 140 expert scholars, richly illustrated with images depicting a wide range of religious figures and activities, as well as significant religious sites, in the United States. An entire volume of primary source documents that captures the reality of religious diversity in American culture, including a copy of Cecil B. DeMille's essay the Screen as Religious Teacher (published in 1927) as well as more conventional materials on Christian Science, the New Age, and Buddhism, to name only a few of the religious traditions covered in this collection.

The Encyclopedia presents and analyzes an unmatched wealth of information about the extent, status, and characteristics of twentieth-century Christianity worldwide. It takes full account of Christianity's ecclesiastical branches, subdivisions, and denominations, and treats Christianity in relation to other faiths and the secular realm. It offers an unparalleled comparative study of churches and religions throughout the modern world. This new edition features a vast range of new and previously unpublished data on the current global situation of Christianity, on religion in general, and on the political, demographic, economic, and social characteristics of the world's cultures and peoples in 238 countries. Each volume is filled with essential information, from historical surveys of denominations to country-by-country profiles of churches and believers. The text sets the current status of Christianity into a rich historical context, and assesses current trends and future directions. Many tables, charts, diagrams, photographs, a directory of names and organizations, a glossary, index, and other features ensure accessibility for specialists and non-specialists alike.