LibGuides: Religion: Introduction

About This Guide

The following guide will provide various starting points for those conducting research on topics in religion.

The Books tab will direct the researcher to reference books, encyclopedias, and ebooks helpful for getting background information on subjects, key figures, and literature in religion.
The Databases - Find Articles tab will direct the user to those databases pertinent for finding articles in journals and magazines both recent and historic.
How to Cite provides directions and resources on producing correct citations.
Journals: Scholarly vs. Popular explains the different kinds of periodical literature available to the researcher and how he/she can limit searches to one kind of journal or the other.

Other tabs are self-explanatory. Feel free to click and explore as you see fit.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
How to search this database
Past Masters (Full Text Humanities) This link opens in a new window
Concentrating on primary sources in philosophy, religion, and literature, Past Masters gathers the books, diaries, letters, and correspondence of major intellects from across the centuries. Titles are typically comprised of the complete collected works of each individual author. Users may conduct searches or browse materials by title, subject (e.g., Women Writers, Religious Studies, or Continental Philosophy), or language (e.g., English, Latin, Greek, or Russian).
Philosophy & Religion POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), Humanities Full Text(H.W. Wilson), Philosopher's Index, and Religion and Philosophy Collection.
Project Muse (electronic journals from Johns Hopkins Press)
This provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins in 1993.