LibGuides: Philosophy: Introduction

Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

800 West Campbell Road
Richardson, TX 75080
Office: MC 2.534A

972-883-6773

Subjects: Arts & Technology, Biomedical Engineering

The following guide will provide various starting points for those conducting research on topics in philosophy.

Background Information - online reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries for basic information and topic ideas in philosophy.
Databases - Find Articles - research databases pertinent for finding articles in journals and magazines both recent and historical.
Books - instructions on finding print and electronic books through the catalog, where print titles are located in the library, and some suggested titles.
Journals - journal search and an explanation of the difference between popular and scholarly/peer-reviewed journals.
Additional Resources - various non-library sites featuring blogs, video materials, and social media related to philosophy.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
An international index with abstracts to books and scholarly journals of philosophy and related fields written after 1939, it covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines such as law, religion, science, history, and education. It is one of the most important databases for philosophy.
Philosophy & Religion POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Philosopher's Index, and Religion and Philosophy Collection.
Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC) This link opens in a new window
Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC, also known as Philosophy Online) accesses numerous leading scholarly journals in philosophy, critical analysis, phenomenology, ethics, and related philosophical disciplines.
**NOTE: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals. Only the titles licensed are available.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is an index to articles in philosophy journals, books and open access archives submitted by researchers. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.