Databases - Find Articles - Holocaust Studies - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Academic Databases in Holocaust Studies

Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944
Funded by the Jaffe Collection, this official statistical source provides detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index (with abstracts) to journals published worldwide in many languages. Fields include all branches of world history, including, political, diplomatic, religious, economic, social, cultural, and military history. Many full-text articles are included. (NOTE: For U.S. and Canadian history, use America: History and Life.)
History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
This documents collection focuses on the diplomatic, legal and political maneuvering during and after World War II regarding German art looting in Europe, recovery of cultural objects dispersed during World War II, and efforts by the U.S. and other Allied Powers to prevent the secreting of Axis assets. On the topic of looted art, the documents primarily relate to negotiations and litigation for return of items to legitimate owners.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
This database, funded by the Jaffe Collection, includes IGCR subject files and more than 30,000 images from the US National Archives on virtually every group of racial, religious, and political refugees from 1938 to 1947.
Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
The Berlin Document Center is a collection of documents pertaining to Jewish communities. It is organized into various sub-collections from a wide variety of sources including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, and businesses, etc.
How to search this database
Klemperer Online Database
Though less well known than his other diaries and until now never published in full, the complete and unabridged diaries of Victor Klemperer provide significant insights into the divided post-war Germany and early East Germany, as well as Klemperer’s engagement with Communism and Zionism. His careful observations and analyses from the Weimar Republic, the National Socialist era, and the German Democratic Republic illuminate what it meant to live under these three regimes. The database covers the entire four-decade period (from 1918 to 1959) in which Klemperer kept his diaries.
Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality
This collection consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the Nuremberg Laws of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia. Listed in alphabetical order, suffix names "Israel" for men and "Sara" for women were added by law in 1936 to readily identify persons of Jewish descent.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement 1945-1950
This source includes primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Prosecuting the Holocaust: British Investigations into Nazi Crimes, 1944-1949
The British Online Archives' collection, Prosecuting the Holocaust: British investigations into Nazi war crimes, 1944-1949, provides insight into the Nazi state activities during World War II. It contains hundreds of thousands of pages of documents and photos and provides access to primary sources related to this time. The collection includes records relating to war crimes, policies and procedures, correspondence, and more.
Shoah Visual History Archive
The Shoah Visual History Archive allows users to view more than 50,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides. These testimonies were recorded in a variety of countries and languages. UTD affiliates must create a free login to use this database.
Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
Testaments to the Holocaust is a digitized, searchable full-text and image resource. Taken from the Wiener Library in London, England. This unique archive is organized into five sections: eyewitness accounts, photograph collection, propaganda materials, Wiener Library publications, and biographical index cards.
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
Funded by the Jaffe Collection, this database provides correspondence, reports, and other documents that spotlight America's relations with the Vatican during World War II and the Holocaust.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.