LibGuides: Holocaust Studies: History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998

History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets - Collection Contents

The History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998 documents collection focuses on the diplomatic, legal and political maneuvering during and after World War II regarding German art looting in Europe, recovery of cultural objects dispersed during World War II, and efforts by the U.S. and other Allied Powers to prevent the secreting of Axis assets. On the topic of looted art, the documents primarily relate to negotiations and litigation for return of items to legitimate owners.

The contents of the History Vault are as follows:

Art Looting and Nazi Germany: Records of the Fine Arts and Monuments Adviser, Ardelia Hall, 1945-1961, Part 1: Country Files for Austria, Italy, and Germany
This collection documents the extent of German art looting in Austria, Italy, and Germany itself. This collection includes files relating to the recovery of cultural objects dispersed during World War II and the programs for the return of historic objects to countries of origin. They consist of correspondence, memoranda, and minutes of interdepartmental committees and international conferences relating to looted art, settlement of cultural properties under U.S. control, and international protection of artistic and historic property.
Art Looting and Nazi Germany: Records of the Fine Arts and Monuments Adviser, Ardelia Hall, 1945-1961, Part 2: Subject Files
This collection documents the extent of German art looting across Europe as well as thefts of cultural objects by U.S. military personnel in Europe, Japan, and Korea. It includes files relating to the recovery of cultural objects dispersed during World War II and the programs for the return of historic objects to countries of origin. They consist of correspondence, memoranda, and minutes of interdepartmental committees and international conferences relating to looted art, settlement of cultural properties under U.S. control, and international protection of artistic and historic property.
Records of the Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Educational, Cultural, and Public Affairs, Part 1: Records on the Disposition of German Assets
This collection covers the diplomatic, legal, and political maneuvering over assets seized by the United States as enemy property during World War II and German assets outside of Germany. This collection is organized into three major groupings: Office of Alien Property; German assets outside Germany; and claims against Germany.
Records of the Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Educational, Cultural, and Public Affairs, Part 2: Records Relating to the Return of Looted Artwork
This collection focuses on the recovery and restitution of artworks missing from Germany and other nations in the aftermath of World War II. Materials in this collection date from 1923 to 1988 and include correspondence, court documents, memoranda, news articles, reports, transcripts, legislation, and minutes of interdepartmental committee meetings pertaining to looted art.
Records of the Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Educational, Cultural, and Public Affairs, Part 3: Records Relating to the Compensation and Reparations for Nazi Victims
This collection covers U.S. State Department assistance to individuals seeking monetary payments or material redress from the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG). Materials in this collection date from 1942 to 1988 and include correspondence, court documents, memoranda, news articles, reports, meeting minutes, and legislation.
Records of the Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Educational, Cultural, and Public Affairs, Part 4: Records Relating to the Tripartite Commission for the Restitution of Monetary Gold
This collection covers claims made to the Tripartite Gold Commission. Materials in this collection date from 1937 to 1996 and include correspondence, court documents, memoranda, news articles, reports, transcripts, and minutes of Tripartite Commission meetings.
Records of the Tripartite Commission for the Restitution of Monetary Gold, 1946-1998, Part 1: Meetings Files and Background Documents
This collection shows the vast amount of monetary gold looted by Nazi Germany during their occupation of Europe. It includes files relating to the recovery of monetary gold looted during World War II and programs established to assist the restitution of looted monetary gold to their rightful owners. These records consist of minutes of meetings of the Tripartite Gold Commission (TGC) as well as TGC reports, financial accounts, and background documents on the commission's efforts to repatriate looted monetary gold to their rightful owners.
The Safehaven Program, Part 1: Files of the Federal Bureau of Investigation
This collection follows the efforts of the U.S.-led Operation Safehaven to prevent the transfer of stolen assets to Switzerland and other neutral countries by the Nazi regime. Materials in this collection date from 1946 to 1952 and consist of files relating to the efforts to take account of stolen assets and Nazi efforts to move or shelter these assets. These records consist of FBI documents, State Department documents, and financial records of German interests and assets.