LibGuides: Hispanic and Latin American Life: Statistical Data

About: Statistical Data

Statistical data is collected from surveys, polls, interviews, studies, reports, etc. by government entities, academic institutions, and research centers for use in research and record-keeping. The data can be numerical or nominal information about populations, locations, and more.

A data set is a file of collected data, structured in a way that allows the reader to draw comparative relationships. Statistical sources like those linked below present data in a way that can be searched and interpreted, and reinforce academic research and writing.

Statistics and Data Sets at McDermott Library

Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a database of quantitative indicators of American history. This database includes data on population, work and welfare, economics, and other government collected data. It also covers American Indians, slavery, poverty, nonprofit organizations, and data on the Confederate States of America.
International Historical Statistics
International Historical Statistics provides data collected from 1750-2010 on a wide variety of socio-economic topics. It includes statistics from the Americas and Europe, as well as Africa, Asia and Oceania. Data tables can be downloaded as PDFs and/or Excel files.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic condition of the United States, containing hundreds of searchable and browsable individually indexed statistical tables. The Abstract can be used for statistical reference and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and online.
Statistical Insight
Statistical Insight is a full-text database containing statistical charts and tables derived from federal and state government agencies, international bodies, and private organizations. It includes demographic data as well as data about crime, economics, health, education, and labor.
World Development Report Online
The World Development Report contains the complete text of every annual report published by the World Bank since 1978 and includes all color illustrations, charts, and tables. WDR is the World Bank's major annual analytical publication with each report covering a different topic or challenge relevant to global peace, knowledge, and economic and social advancement. Users may also browse and search OKR, the Open Knowledge Repository, a collection of thousands of books and reports providing economic, social, political, and state of the environment data.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean features primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, academic journal articles, newspapers, maps and statistics. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The collection includes manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and more.

Statistics and Data Sets on the Web

Data.gov (GSA) - The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

Data USA - Explore, map, compare, and download U.S. data.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) - A division of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics - Reports on justice systems, crime, criminal offenders, and victims of crime.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.

U.S. Census Bureau - Offers extensive data and customization, a library of information resources in all formats and browseable topics.

U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts: Texas - Easy access to Texas-specific counts and percentages in demographics, health, education, business, and more. National figures are included in this table.