Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

H-Index Using Web of Science, SCOPUS, and Google Scholar

Describes an H-index and instructions on formulating one using Web of Science, SCOPUS, and Google Scholar.

H-Index Using Web of Science

Please note: This resource is only available to current UTD students, staff and faculty.

 

  1. Connect to the Web of Science database  https://libproxy.utdallas.edu/login?url=http://www.isiknowledge.com/

    You will be taken to the default Web of Science Basic Search:

    Web of Science Basic Search
     
  2. The most effective search is by author. First, change the default search setting from “Topic” to “Author.” Enter the last name, a space, and the first initial of the first name followed by an asterisk, Ex. Oldow j*.   

    If you are sure that the author is always cited/published with the middle initial, then enter it as Oldow js*. Keep in mind that if you put in the middle initial, it will not find any matches where only the first initial (“j”)  is used. 

    If the name is unique enough, you can use the last name only, Ex. Oldow*. In this final example, Web of Science will find all of the articles by any author with the last name Oldow

    To build a search based on multiple versions of an author’s name or multiple authors, scroll down to Step 5 on creating a Marked List.

    Author Search

    When searching by author, make sure that you change the dropdown option from Topic to Author.

    Note: Web of Science defaults to the Core Collection search as seen in the top navigation bar:

    Core Collection

    The Core Collection includes both journals and conference proceedings. Journal coverage extends back to 1900, depending on the discipline (e.g., Arts & Humanities or Social Sciences). Conference proceedings only go back to 1990. 

    If the user wishes to limit to a particular subject area or collection within the Core Collection, click on More Settings toward the bottom of the screen and select/deselect particular collections:

    More Settings
    The default setting is to search all collections.
     
  3. Once the results are retrieved for the author, click Create Citation Report in the upper right corner:


    Initial Search Results
  4. On the Citation Report page, displayed are a graph for the number of articles or items published by the author (left), a graph listing the number of times the author has been cited by year (center), and finally the h-index (right):


    Citation Report Page
     

Beneath the graphs, the user may click checkboxes to remove any items from the Citation Report that have been erroneously added or adjust the publication date range and then recalculate the h-index:

Checkboxes to Remove Items

The “?” beside the h-index score will direct the user to a description of how the h-index is calculated:

H-Index Explanation
 

5. If the user wishes to build a list based on multiple versions of an author’s name or multiple authors, s/he can conduct multiple searches, each time using the Add to Marked List button between each search:

Add to Marked List

Once all citations are collected using the Add to Marked List feature, the user may click the Marked List button in the upper right corner of the screen to obtain a full list of all citations: 

Marked List ButtonFrom the new page of results, scroll down the page and click on the Create Citation Report link to produce an h-index score based on all the items in the marked list:

                                                                      Create Citation Report Link

 

6. For more help, access a video tutorial on Citation Reports by the Web of Science Training channel, which includes instructions on generating an h-index: https://youtu.be/DdA0QM7BCkI